Why have I blogged for the last 19 years?


I’ve been asked why it is that I blogged for such a long time / have written so many posts, and my response has always been that I do this as a journal to keep memories where I can access them.

I think I’ll need to change that response, as my kids have grown up and I’ve found another great reason why it was a smart idea to have maintained this blog.

My response now would be, so that my kids can read stories about themselves, and learn the funny, clever and unique things that they did, when young, which were captured for posterity.

My daughter, for example, recently turned 13-years-old, and she had wanted to know what time she was born, in order to mark that moment. Unfortunately, by the time she arrived, the third child, we had gotten lazy and didn’t mark down anywhere the time of her birth. I knew I had it somewhere… But couldn’t remember where.

I looked everywhere… couldn’t find it.

Then one afternoon, her and I were scrolling through the blog looking for posts about her (her name on my blog was “Berry”, but became “Boo”) when we found a post, on her birthday, with the time of her birth. I apparently, had the time to jump on my computer and document this milestone for myself, and evidentially for her.

Damn.

Not only did we solve a problem, but we also read through a bunch of posts and laughed. Such great bonding moments.

My advice to new parents remains the same… Document everything while you can. Enjoy that process, take pictures, write stories, and document milestones. One day, your kids might just thank you!

Please join the discussion!