Trip Down Memory Lane: Sharing Yearbooks with your Children


The other week, I found a box which had my yearbooks from all 4 years of my high school. I was on the yearbook staff for 3 of those 4 years, which meant that not only did I have a personalized yearbook, but each and every picture or article chosen for those years came across my eyes at some point in time, which made it feel that much more personal for me.

I opened up the front cover to see comments and notes written from my friends and classmates, which covered the entire front and back and many pages in between. Notes from people I still keep in touch with, and unfortunately notes from way too many people that I didn’t keep in touch with. Sadly there were notes from people who passed away way too soon.

There were some goofy notes, some general notes, and some quite meaningful and personal notes.

I left the yearbooks sitting on a table and my eldest came to hang out with his girlfriend (not girlfriend), and they decided it would be fun to look through the yearbook. So they sat down and immediately went through and found me in all my high school awkwardness and away they giggled.

They looked through the pictures and giggles some more.

Then they decided it would be fun to see what my friends wrote, and then match them up to the pictures, but…

They can’t read script.

This generation cannot read handwriting.

LLLLLooooooooooooooooollllllllllllllllllllllllll.

I watch the excitement on their faces turn to disappointment.

Thankfully, the government in Ontario is going back to teaching handwriting. This is absolutely hilarious. Yet not funny at all.

Anyone else experience this, or anything similar that we could do but this generation can’t?

Please join the discussion!