The relationship between the number of children and the number of pictures of each child.


There used to be a clear relationship between the number of children and the number of pictures of each child.  It was a negative relationship.

Developing film was expensive – especially this new colour film stuff – so back in the day the first child had the most photos taken of them.  The next child had less, and with each additional child came fewer and fewer pictures of that child.

In my own home, for example – and my father was an amateur photographer – my older sister had 2 albums of pictures of her put together by our parents and I had almost one album filled up.

So with three kids of my own, I suspected that would be the pattern to expect, however I have found the opposite to be true.

With the invention of digital prints, and smart phones taking really great pictures, we have found that our third child (which also is a girl after 2 boys) has the most photos taken of all the children.

Basically the iPhone evened the odds.

As the 2nd child, I say thank you to technology on behalf of every child not born first.

Please join the discussion!