How to talk about sex with our kids


I’m not ready to have the conversation with my daughter about anything sex-related.  She is just 7-years-old, and after 2-boys, she’s my little girl… I know that sounds like a complete cop-out, but I think I need to leave that conversation to my wife.  Thank goodness my wife is so awesome and started the conversation with the boys, long, long ago.

I thought I was close to having to have that conversation with her in the car the other day, after we heard a news story on the radio about a robbery.

Turns out there were 2 burglars who had broken into someone’s house and instead of robbing it and leaving, they hopped on the couch and starting having sex.

The homeowner arrived and started hitting them, called the police and they were arrested… duh, eh?

Well, my daughter apparently overheard the news report and we had this conversation;

Boo: Daddy what were the burgers doing on the couch that they were arrested for?

Me:  Ummm, they were burglars… Robbers, thieves, criminals and they were, ummm, kissing.

Her: No, I heard the radio.  There were burgers on the couch.  What were they doing on the couch?

Me: They were burglars and they were, ummm, kissing..  watching TV… No, I think they both fell asleep.  I didn’t hear it.

Her: No.  I heard the radio.  Oh, I know.  They were hit because they had sacks on the couch.

Me: NO.  They were kissing!

Her: No daddy.  It was sacks.  They had their 2 sacks on the couch.  The sacks must have been dirty and the owner told them to remove them, but when they didn’t, she hit them.

Me: (phew)… Yes. That was what happened.  Good thing you were listening.

They grow up so fast!

 

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

