13 Sightly Obscure Things my Children Will NEVER Understand (Besides Us)


Really, this list could be exhaustive.

There are tons of things that my children won’t understand because if it was a technology it became obsolete, or a TV show that got cancelled, or a commercial that ran it’s course. But this list came to me in about 10 minutes, so it’s a peek into my brain to see what the heck I am thinking about at various times during the day.

And please, based on #13, do NOT judge me. LOL. Here are 13 obscure things my kids will never understand.

  1. Use of the term “Fire Crotch”

  2. What an audio tape is and why on earth we would ever need one.

  3. What a Black and White TV is, and what “snow” means

  4. “Where’s the Beef”

  5. Al Capone’s vault

  6. Life before cell phones / pagers

  7. Encyclopaedias

  8. Playing outside for hours on end without a parent present

  9. VCR’s

  10. Typewriters.

  11. How a record plays – the speeds, the need to keep them clean

  12. Making plans to meet someone, somewhere and having to do all of that without having a cell phone handy to text or call them to confirm their location, etc.

  13. How to use the telephone properly!

Alright…

We can teach them that.

 

The real number 1. A Stanley Cup in Toronto!

or

Houses before alarms.

or

Dial-up modems.

or

Drive-in’s.

or

Watching whatever was on TV on the 30 stations provided.  Especially for sports, there was no choice and no selection.

I could go on.

2 thoughts on “13 Sightly Obscure Things my Children Will NEVER Understand (Besides Us)

  1. Sarah August 2, 2014 / 9:45 am

    LOL a few of these are different outside the city…we are one of the only houses out if all my kids friends with an alarm, my kids and all the kids in our street play out without parents, they even go to the park! (Granted I can see said park from my living room). What on earth was your #1?! Even I don’t know that!! We have a drive in close by and still own a VCR and cassettes :0

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

