It Can Be Very Stressful To Be a 4-Year-Old Girl!


My boys will be experiencing sleep away camp this summer. When I was young I remember my mother asking me, and me providing an anxiety-ridden reply that had 2-letters, a “N” and a “O”.

In hindsight, I should have gone, or they should have forced me. Instead, by 14-years-old I was working in the summers and the rest shall we say is history.

So I want my kids to try sleep-over camp, meet new and interesting people (boring ones too, to be honest) and determine on their own if they want to go next year or not.

My 9-year-old has already asked if he can stay for the month if he wants.

I think what helps with the transition is the fact that we’ve been getting them ready for this for the better part of 5-months, from talking about it, to getting them new clothes and items for camp.

So how does all of this relate to the 4-year-old?

This was the morning conversation about camp;

Boo: “My brothers are going to camp?”

Me: “Yes!”

Boo: “They will be sleeping there?”

Me: “Yes!”

Boo: “I will be going to the same camp?”

Me: “No. They will be away at camp, then when they come back they will go to the same camp as you.”

Boo: “I will be coming home from camp every day… On the bus?”

Me: “Yes”.

Boo: “So my brothers will be at camp. They will sleep there, and then they will come back and we will all go to camp together? I will not sleep at camp, but I will come home and sleep at home?”

Me: “Yes! That is exactly what will happen.”

Boo: “GREAT! Whew. I need a break…”

2 thoughts on “It Can Be Very Stressful To Be a 4-Year-Old Girl!

  1. Paul Wandason June 2, 2014 / 17:39

    Great story! It’s always a surprise to find out what’s going on inside the heads of our daughters!

    Like

    • The Urban Daddy June 4, 2014 / 10:02

      Thank you for the comment, Paul.

      I agree 100%, it is a surprise and the stage between when they say everything that is on their mind and the stage where they stop talking is probably the best!

      Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

