Mary Mary Quite Contrary, How Does Your Garden Grow?


If you have been following this blog since 2004, you would know how much I love to garden. Love it! Granted, I can’t seem to keep indoor plants alive, but I love to get outside in the spring, turn the soil, feel it in between my fingers, pull out of the weeds and other debris (sticks, glass, rocks, etc.)

Then I plant!  Oh, and I remember to water every now and then, I’ll check the plants, pull weeds, and wait until the fruits and veggies come and enjoy the fruits of my labours as it has been said before.

As a kid, our neighbours behind us had a massive garden – they were 2 older Macedonian women – and they taught me to farm, so I went from a patch with 4 tomato plants and a zucchini plant to a large “L” shaped garden with 64 tomato plants, peppers, eggplant, zucchini, cucumbers, water chestnuts, and whatever else I could buy, borrow from them or grow from seed..

Now, living in Urban Toronto, we have much less space in our backyard, but since we’ve moved, this could very well be the best year for gardening in about 8 years.  Forgetting about all the seeds I planted which died, My garden already has a plethora of raspberry plants, strawberries, blue berries and currents growing, plus one clove of garlic.  The front garden has onions, garlic and potatoes growing, and already this year I have dug out the back garden and framed it so I can top up the bed with 3-4 inches of black soil, peat and compost in order to have the perfect bed for asparagus, peppers, peas, beans, and loads of tomatoes.

My deck already has chives growing and I hope that either the chamomile, mint, lemon balm or basil come back so I can add the thyme and oregano to it and watch the herb garden grow.

Last year I grew: Dill, Sweet Basil, Spicy Globe Basil, Onion Chives, Garlic Chives, Rosemary, Sage, Verbone Lemon, spearmint and Chamomile.   The kids would take a sprig of mint for their smoothies or for lemonade, or they would just pluck out the herbs and eat them as they walked by.  I love seeing Stewie eating the chives.  Linus all the other stuff.

Hopefully my love of gardening will continue with them.

I want to keep the raspberries in check this year (they really do grow like weeds) and have the kids join me in the guerilla gardening in the park or ravine near the house so that in a couple of years there will be a massive patch of berries for everyone in the community to enjoy.

Do you grow things on your patio? Or in a garden? Do your kids try everything too?

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

