What’s the “Ed” Word, Daddy?


I’m not sure how this conversation started or what was said, but the ending was kind of funny.

It went something like this…

Me: “Ed is short for Edward.”

Son: “So everyone named Ed is really an Edward?”

Me: “Sure”.

Him: “Daddy… I know the A-word, and the S-word, but I don’t know the Edward?”

Me: “Huh?”

Him: “I don’t know the Edward!”

Me: “What Edward??? You mean the A-word like ass???”

Him (huge smile – I got daddy to say ass): “Yeah. What is the Ed-word”

Me: “Ohhhh…. It’s not Ed-Word. It’s Edward!”

Him: “Oh”.

Oops.

5 thoughts on “What’s the “Ed” Word, Daddy?

  1. Damon January 8, 2014 / 19:25

    Ha! Oh man, this made me smile so much. Children are the oddest combination of clever, sinister, naive, and innocent. Good show, sir.

    Like

    • The Urban Daddy January 10, 2014 / 01:29

      Hi Damon,

      Thanks for the comment.

      I have to be honest. I’m still surprised by the things that come out of all their mouths. Most is either very clever, or extremely funny.

      They make me laugh…

      Like

      • Damon January 10, 2014 / 13:36

        Thanks for sharing, definitely put a laugh in my day.

        Like

  2. mj monaghan January 14, 2014 / 22:21

    Ed-word! That’s awesome. Sounds like the youngster’s gonna be a punster. My favorite type of wit!

    Like

    • The Urban Daddy January 15, 2014 / 12:53

      Thank you for the comment, MJ. I think you are right! He made me a card for my birthday (which is not for over a month) and on the card was a dinosaur. I asked why, and he smirked, prompted me to open the card and then began to giggle because that same picture on the back said “Have a dino-riffic birthday”.

      He’s certainly very quick-witted. lol.

      Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

