Here is How I Know My Children are Growing Up…


Tonight at dinner I realized that my children are growing up.

It’s not because they are getting taller or heavier, or as a result of their ever increasing vocabulary’s.  All of that happens anyways.  Tonight something much more subtle occurred.

I noticed at dinner tonight that while my youngest children, Stewie and Boo we colouring on their placemats, 8-year-old Linus was paying attention to the conversations we were having as a family.

Bugger.

Now we cannot freely talk about anything that we do not want him to know.

I love that he’s interested, and he really seems to be sucking in information like a sponge, but it’s not like when I was a child and when my parents and grand parents wanted to have a conversation which they did not want my sister or myself to hear, they would break into a different language.

Yiddish.

So I did what every child eager to learn family secret would do. I bought a book of Yiddish-to-English translations and learned the key words.

That worked for a few years.

Then they caught on slowly began including us in those conversations.

How quickly they grow!

2 thoughts on “Here is How I Know My Children are Growing Up…

  1. Shana August 26, 2013 / 4:51 am

    This is adorable and so true! It’s the little things that truly show us how much they change and grow and how quickly! It’s that night when your little suddenly sleeps all night in their own bed. It’s the first time they learn to blame a sibling! It is actually amazing!

    Like

  2. Eppy August 24, 2013 / 8:23 am

    In our house when I was growing up, my parents did the same, they spoke Yiddish. During that time the “Pig Latin” phase started in school. So, my brother and I learned pig latin. Suddenly my parents became silent and during dinner we spoke of the days activities.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

