Monday Musings – Are Hyphenated Last Names For Kids A Good Idea?


What seems like ages ago, I participated in a round table discussion put on by TD Canada Trust, aimed at figuring out how the bank can better serve bloggers and the people who read blogs – or anyone who does not follow the traditional model of a bank customer.

It was at this session where I met the Multiple Mayhem Mamma. Sam was nice enough to chat with me about the industry and even gave me some tips to getting better known. As a result, I have become a big fan of hers and I try to read as much as I can, not only does Sam blog but she’s on TV and active on other blogs including Huffington Post Canada.

Recently Sam posted an article on hyphenated last name, and what happens when children with hyphenated names grow up and marry other children with hyphenated names.

The article is below, so go read it and comment here and there. Please.

Monday Musings – Are Hyphenated Last Names For Kids A Good Idea?.

The end result as best as I can see it is here;

1. Last names made up of 4 names will not fit on the back of sports jerseys. So that’s bad.
2. Start talking about this now if you are newly married.
3. Do what your wife wants. Happy wife equals happy life.
4. Try something off the charts, and as we did, if it’s a boy, he gets my last name and a girl gets my wife’s last name,

What are your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Monday Musings – Are Hyphenated Last Names For Kids A Good Idea?

  1. Cheryl-Lynn May 23, 2013 / 12:29 pm

    Being a Quebecer, our maiden name is our legal name always; we have many children with hypenated last names and having worked in health system, finding space on health cards is a nightmare. I like your option. My kids’ father did not want my maiden name, so I was the unhappy wife…lol. I think all children should have both names on their birth certificate and then choose one full last name and initial the latter. Many are doing this here. I’m English and my ex is French, so I felt my kids would have better job options choosing one or the other…and yes, in this province, it does make a difference.

    Like

  2. Teena in Toronto May 20, 2013 / 7:33 pm

    I kept my birth name when Gord and I got married. If he and i had kids (which we aren’t), I would insist on having the kids have a hyphenated name. It’s so old fashion to have the kids take just the father’s name.

    Like

    • The Urban Daddy May 22, 2013 / 11:40 pm

      I like the way you said that… “It’s too old fashion to have the kids take just the father’s name.” I absolutely agree, and coming from a family where old-fashioned reigns, it took me a while to be able to step back and see that just because a custom or tradition is passed down, doesn’t mean that I have to follow it.

      Back in the days we used the father’s name to trace the family tree, but now with sites like Geni, Ancestry and Facebook, it’s done already.

      Thanks for the comment, Teena!

      Like

  3. S May 17, 2013 / 8:56 am

    That’s a fantastic choice you and your wife decided on. I’ve never heard of that before…great compromise! I’m curious though as to how your respective families have responded to your decision; initially when you first brought it to their attention and now (assuming that they’ve had some time to get used to the decision)?

    Like

    • The Urban Daddy May 17, 2013 / 9:57 am

      Hi S,

      Thank you for the comment.

      When we first started talking it through I thought it was odd until my wife gave me examples where, as a teacher, parents had different last names from their kids and those kids had different last names from each other. She spoke to the kids and they were cool with it so when it came time to discuss with the parents we didn’t ask for their approval, we just stated it was what we were going to do.

      Then when they questioned it, we had supporting arguments to back up the plan.

      They were actually quite cool with it – my mother took time to come around as she is quite traditional – my wife keeping her name took a while to digest – but our first 2 kids were boys.

      Then came the girl, she took my wife’s last name and everyone thinks it’s great.

      The only confusion came from the CRA. They have not heard of this before, lol.

      Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

