Why Stupid People Should NOT Be Allowed To Drive Cars, or Park Cars!


Fragaria x ananassa.
Fragaria x ananassa. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Had some primo excitement this long weekend.

My wife and I took the kids, plus Stewie’s friend, Strawberry picking at Whitamore farms this Canada Day long weekend.  We picked strawberries, raspberries, peas and potatoes and the 2 hours we were there seemed more like 4 or 5 hours because of all that went on…  Some of our friends were there as well and looking after 4 kids was entertaining especially when one of them thinks it is a buffet.  Then again, nothing says don’t eat too many strawberries like puking them out, eh?  Stewie said he only have 6 or 10.  Yeah, right!  We think he had just over heated… He’s totally fine now.

After picking the fruit the whole bunch decided it was time to eat so we headed West towards home to find some grub and we landed at Hero Burgers somewhere in a plaza on Steeles near Markham Road or Warden or somewhere like that.  We all ate burgers and fries and planned the next stop which was to be a clothing store for my wife and park for the kids.

I took the 4 kids to the car after the meal and because we had to walk through a busy parking lot we all held hands.  As we approached the row our car was in a SUV started to back up out of its parking spot.  When I noticed that this car did not have backup lights and was not turning in any way I pulled back the kids and asked them to wait to see what this car was doing before we walked behind it.

The car rolled backwards right into the parked car less than a foot from us.  The force of the impact moved the car that was hit and propelled the SUV back three feet after impact.

We just stood there, silent.

We were all about to walk between those cars and that car would have hit us.

The fact the car did not turn its wheel in any way was what tipped me off.

Then Stewie blurted out; “There is no one in this car!  It’s empty!”

I looked inside and it was in fact empty.  I looked on the floor and in the back in case someone needed medical help but there was no one inside.

One of the workers at the Greek restaurant behind us asked if that car was empty or was he seeing things.  He went inside his restaurant and the next 2 to see who owned that SUV.  The guy whose car was hit worked in that Greek restaurant with him.

Out came a server from another restaurant and within minutes we were trying to track down the car owner and even my wife went into the bank to ask.

While waiting, we noticed the door was open and the car was in reverse.  So some dumbass pulled into the plaza, gets into the spot and throws his car in reverse and runs into the bank.

He came running out, seeing us looking into his car and sees his SUV in the middle of the parking lot, 3 feet from the other car and instead of asking what was going on, he runs over and stands there.

“Is this your car” we asked.

“Yes, this is my car”, he replies.

“Your car hit my car”, said the gentleman from the Greek restaurant.

“No it didn’t.  My car didn’t hit anyone” says the man clearly not seeing his car in the middle of the lot and 11 people standing around it.

“My witnesses say it did and almost him them” said the man.

“Your car just rolled backwards and almost sandwiched the 5 of us” I told him.

“Your car was left in reverse!” said my wife.

Then the man started to be nice and say he would fix everything, but after his first denial how do you trust him now?

We saw the discussion get heated so we piled into the car and left.

Crazy, eh?

Who leaves a car in reverse in a parking lot?

4 thoughts on “Why Stupid People Should NOT Be Allowed To Drive Cars, or Park Cars!

    • Urban Daddy July 3, 2012 / 3:39 pm

      I just wish I could have better articulated the thought process in my head as I was walking with these kids when I noticed the car was backing up and no back-up lights were on. That prompted me to stop, but once I noticed the car was not turning it’s wheel, that was when I knew something was wrong and pulled them back. It was surreal and I’m sure you can relate as a parent when you get that feeling that something is wrong.

      CRAZY!

      And thanks for the comment. 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

