What the Family Day long weekend means to my family.


 

The Family Day long weekend means rest and relaxation to me and my family. It means a one day break from the daily grind of work, school and programs, and it means time to get some stuff done around the house, like cleaning and organizing and sadly, an extra day of being annoyed at my kids. 🙂

On this long weekend we sorted, cleaned, ate, slept and played a lot of Cityville.

CityVille
Image via Wikipedia

I realized how exhausted I’ve been since I changed jobs – I’ve been sick with an infection for 5 weeks now – and my energy level is at an all time low. My waist is growing to an all-time high. In the past 5-6 weeks I have managed a few dubious achievements, heights not reached since my early 20’s, as I drank a lot of coffee, ate a lot of McDonald’s and through all those chemicals, caffeine, sugar and fat, still found myself without any energy.

I have visited that wonderful treadmill we bought a month ago just twice.  It misses me.  I know it does.

I played my first ball-hockey game in 5 weeks on the family day Monday and thank goodness for a 2 hour afternoon nap, because I was beat by the end of the warm-ups.  I somehow managed to step it up and had my best game in at least 10 years.

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, the 21st was my birthday and I think the extra day off from life helped me get some rest and spend non-programmed time with my kids and we all really enjoyed that.

I’m thinking there should be a family day every month, don’t you?

 

Art Gallery of Ontario at dusk. Toronto, Ontar...
Image via Wikipedia

 

On the actual Family day Monday we took the kids to the Art Gallery of Ontario (we got married there 10 years ago) as there is now a kids area where the kids can draw, colour, dress up, read, play, paint, play table tennis and so much more.  The kids created art on Monday which was placed in the gallery under the kids section.  They thought it was fun, the parents thought it was cool. 

After a couple crowded hours there we headed into Toronto’s Chinatown for some dim sum.  It was, as usual, great and because it was so close to my birthday I got an order of the grilled octopus tenticles and shared some with Berry.  I was so proud of that stomach, to try something new.

Then home and more rest.

I miss you family day.

 

What did your family do?

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

