Thursday Thirteen with a Twist


I have a great Thursday Thirteen for this week, however it comes with a story.

Thursday I began a new chapter in my career as I joined a new company. Wednesday was my last day at my previous employer.  I’m happy, sad, nervous and excited… All the good stuff.

My son, Linus, told me on the way to Beavers that if I changed jobs one more time, then I get to be a Doctor in my following career move. Cool. Doctor of Taxation maybe, but that’s as close as I’ll get!

On Thursday, I went early to check out the neighbourhood and dropped into the Java Joe’s location in Mississauga – I’m going to miss the Richmond Hill location – and I started chatting with the owner who is really nice too.  This location also opens at 7am, which works great for me and since there is no Tim Horton’s in sight this works great.  So I ordered a large Highlander Cream and when I turned to put in cream and sugar I noticed they had posted my 2011 Urban Daddy Coffee rankings; https://urbandaddy.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/urban-daddys-3rd-annual-coffee-shop-rankings-2011/ right there the cream, sugar, lids and stir sticks are.

So I blurted out laughing which brought over the owner and I pointed to the lists (it was there on each side) and said; “That’s my ranking. I wrote this article”.

He seemed stunned, pointed to me and said, “you?”.

“Yes” I replied. “I wrote that” at which point I opened my iPad, flipped to my blog and showed him the post.

He thanked me, gave me his card, and wished me best of luck on my new position.

Anyways, here is the Thursday Thirteen. Again in case you, like I did, forgot. The 13 things allegedly, my staff will miss about me.

13. Brrraaaiiinnnnnnnsssssssssss – That is my Plants vs. Zombies chant I would regularly throw into conversations with the group. 

Plants vs. Zombies

12. Ice Cream bets – I have been known to bet my staff that they cannot finish food, or drinks… OR ice cream and lost. I’ve won too, but it’s all for fun, plus everyone always has room for ice cream!

11. “Don’t worry about It” and “Sure, no problem” – These must represent my laid back nature and my desire to remove the stress from some people and take the work into our area and have it done there. When I utter those catch phrases, I not only take care of the task but I educate so it hopefully doesn’t happen again.

10. Buzzing music from my iPod – What can I say… I love my music loud and hard. Did I mention I love it loud???

9. My silly and funny comments – I have regularly thrown in comments like “sit on it”, or “take off, eh?” to keep my group on their toes and to educate them on stuff they should know. For example on my last day food was brought in to feed everyone and there were some people unhappy I was leaving, let alone for a higher position,when I blurted out that the food looked amazing and for dessert there would be “sour grapes”.  A few got it.  It went over the head of many others.

8. Political, sports and general news – I spent a lot of time on the Internet reading tax related items and general news to keep up to date on what’s going on in the finance world and what others are saying about it.  Inevitably, I would come across something interesting like news about flooding in the Philippines, or the trading of players, or something stupid the Liberals would have done and I would blurt it out plus political commentary to keep everyone informed.  Your welcome.  🙂

7. Cubicle to cubicle visits and chats – It’s not like I was just walking around wasting time, but I firmly believe that every now and then staff need to be engaged and feel connected to management so I would chat with them, see what they’re working on, find out what issues they are having and stay connected. 

6. Lively greetings – Every morning I would walk in and say good morning to everyone who I would pass and who would look at me.  Nothing wrong with that, right?  I would also greet my taxation staff and do a pulse check person by person.  My experience shows me this is much better than walking by them with my head down…

5. Acronyms, like “WLS” and “WWGD” – I’m a big fan of keeping things loose.  People spend more time at the office than they do at home, so I want to make sure they enjoy themselves while getting the job done.  These acronyms related to people. 

4. Star Wars toys – I had a big collection of Star Wars toys on my cubicle which I started to take home when I knew I was leaving and now they’re all here.  I loved having them out, but don’t see that opportunity in my new role for toys…

English: Star Wars toys collection in Penang T...

3. Social media updates of my family – When you blog and tweet and talk about your family, people either ask me for updates, or they read it here and tell me what they liked about it.  Now they are going to have to read it.  Hopefully this will mean more hits.  🙂

2. Coffee and bagels – Have I mentioned before that I appreciate all the hard work of my staff and the rest of the staff I worked with?  Well I do and people like to eat so I would periodically bring in food… many types of food in order to keep spirits high and tummy’s full.  Ice cream Thursday’s were a smash!  A block of ice cream was $1.47.  A box of waffles was $0.99 so for less than $5.00 I could feed a lot of folks a lot of ice cream.  I even saw someone… Eat a super-sized ice cream sandwich with extra ice cream on top.  Crazy. 

1. Noisy food, like carrots, apples, but mostly when chomping on my nails – I’m always eating.  Fruits, veggies, mainly things that crunch, but when I’m stressed, it’s my nails.  Needless to say, I went through a lot of nails.

Personally I think they’re going to miss this;

a single vanilla ice cream sandwich
Image via Wikipedia
5 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen with a Twist

  1. Becky January 24, 2012 / 6:05 am

    Congratulations on the new job. (Raising my coffee cup to you) Here’s to new beginnings… and your doctorate in taxation. 😉

    Like

  2. Urban Daddy January 24, 2012 / 12:20 am

    Mapsgirl – It still makes me laugh. My interests as I entered age 40. Kids stuff, coffee, sports and music. Pretty much the same from when I was 17-years-old. LOL.

    Angie – Say that in 9 months when you’re back!

    Like

  3. do svidania! :) January 22, 2012 / 1:49 pm

    miss you already!!!

    Like

  4. Wendy [mapsgirl] January 22, 2012 / 1:33 am

    Congrats on the new job!! And I love that they posted your blog post!! You’re the coffee guru!!

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

