One word you would never associate with this urban daddy… Detox!


For those of you who know me, or have read this blog more than once in the past 7, almost 8 years now, you would know that the word “detox” is nor a word in my vocabulary.

Me? Detox? Really… Only if it involves eating more meat and eating less bread would I even contemplate such an event.

But my, how the times have changed, and so has my body.

I recently turned 40 years old and as a result of the Global Corporate Challenge (GCC) I have been walking my ass(ets) off for the past 2 months and while I have totally lost inches around my waist, I have actually gained weight!

Really.

So I jumped at the opportunity to join my wife and a few of her friends and take part in an 11 day detox, which began on Monday.

Truth be told, I was actually looking forward to it. I’ve gotten to hate the full feeling that I seem to walk around with all the time now. I feel bloated and as a stress eater I eat when I get stressed and then getting bigger makes me stressed. A very unfair cycle.

On the health side, and I need new dress pants and I want a nice new suit but I swore I was not going to get one at this size. I want to be a size that I am going to stay at for a long time (hopefully) before I throw down my cash for something beautiful and stylish.

So let me put me into context why I really want to do this detox now, and why I need it to be successful for me for a few minutes for those of you who have not met me.

When I was 13 years old, I weighed 248 pounds and wore a size 52 tall jacket. I was not super-fat, but just really big all the way around. I was the kid that would go to the Canadian National Exhibition or to Canada’s Wonderland and have the guy guess my weight and he would usually be off by 30 pounds. I hide my fat well. I’m “big boned”.

When I graduated high school I took that summer to trim down before University began and managed to drop 50 pounds. My mother thought I was sick I was “too skinny”. I bottomed out at 190 pounds for a couple of years while playing a lot of ball hockey and working a lot.

Then came marriage and kids and school, and away went my hair and my waist. Granted, I’m wearing the same sized pants now at 40 that I did at 19, but I measure my weight now by the amount of muffin top I see, or how much I need to inhale before I can do up my pants.

So I have high expectations from this detox. I’m hoping that in giving up coffee, sugar, dairy products, wheat, soy (among other smaller items) that my diet will change ever so slightly that I will not be hungry and can shed some unnecessary pounds.

So here are the kinds of meals I have been eating this week;
First thing in the morning a tall glass of water with half a lemon and if I had cayenne pepper left, some of that.
Breakfast: Organic Oatmeal with ground flax and berries with a pinch of cinnamon, or some organic cacao powder.
Mid morning snack: Brown gluten-free rice cakes with a little bit of almond butter on it for protein – and some sliced banana to make it incredibly yummy.
Lunch: Rice or quinoa with this amazing black bean dish that my wife made, or a power salad – chalked full of sliced almonds, baked yams, oven-roasted beets, tons of veggies and a homemade dressing, or some red bean daal that she made too.

Afternoon snack: A piece of fruit
Dinner: Chicken on spinach with sweet potato fries and veggies.

So in with this detox comes the 6-8 glasses of water a day which I drink anyways and no coffee but I can drink green tea.  It’s clearly a “detox your body (liver) by not eating crap” and not a “detox by taking laxatives and clearing your system of crap” and for that I really appreciate it.

My thoughts about this detox after 5 days can best be described by taking the week and breaking it in half. The first half of the week I felt like crap. I was exhausted all the time and has NO energy during the day. I suspected it might be from me not having my one cup of coffee each day, so I spiked my green tea with ginseng root and got a little boost but not what I needed.

To be frank, I felt like I had been running on stimulants (coffee, sugar, chocolate, etc.) and have been using that for the past 6 1/2 years to get through the day. It has been that bad.

Then the rest of the week is a completely different story. On Thursday, for example, not only was I not exhausted, but I had so much energy that after I got home I went for a run to further pad my walking stats for the GCC.  I covered just under 5km in about 40 minutes which was okay for the frequency of time I have gone out running this year. 

On Friday I also had a ton of energy, without green tea this time but come evening time, I become exhausted again.  I think that’s just me without sugar.  40 years old, 3 kids 6 and under, up at 6am every day… Ahhh, being a Dad.  A detoxed dad.

Wish me luck.

 

Now it’s your turn to tell me… What food / foods could you under no circumstances do without for 11 days?  I’ve found nothing that I have absolutely had to have… yet, although some foods appeal more to me for convenience sake.

Spill the beans.

3 thoughts on “One word you would never associate with this urban daddy… Detox!

  1. Rachel July 16, 2011 / 00:24

    You know that the reason for the lack of weight loss with the loss of inches is due to the fact that those leg muscles you’ve been building up weigh more than the fat you’ve been losing. 🙂
    Interesting to hear the details of your detox diet. It’s fairly similar to what I’ve been eating (with a few minor changes). Good luck!!!!

    Like

    • Urban Daddy July 16, 2011 / 08:29

      I agree but I have not gained that much muscle… Impossible. I think.

      And yes, we talked about the fact that I was now eating more like you and with all the results you have achieved (and more to come I’m sure) it makes me wonder;
      1) Why I was not eating like this for the past 20 years
      2) Why isn’t everyone eating like this.

      Have rice cakes with almond butter and banana slices on it for a mid-morning snack may not be the same as a donut, but it tastes WAY better and at the end of the day, I don’t feel all gross inside.

      But we’ll see how far it goes. 5 days down and 6 to go. The weekend should be a challenge!

      Like

  2. Joy August 4, 2011 / 11:06

    Wow. Good luck to you! My husband is currently on the HCG diet for a similar reason. One thing that would be hard for me to go without for 11 days would be chocolate. After reading this Mom’s Guide (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/), I started taking better inventory of what I feed my son – not just for his dental health but for his overall health and was surprised at how much sugar and processed food we eat. It’s amazing how much better you feel when you leave that stuff out.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

