Happy 5th Birthday Twitter

Hey, Twitter is 5 years old today.

What do you get for a social networking program, in 140 word or less, that has absolutely everything?

Really?  I do not know.

Will there be cake?

But seriously, Twitter, in the 2 years I’ve known you, you have allowed some 725 people to read my nonsensical ramblings, my “tweets” about life, tax, sports and general random thoughts about nothing.  You have taught me about the correct use of a “#” sign and the “@” sign.  You show up on the right column of this blog and you post each and every blog post I write. 

We’ve bonded.

I’m still not sure what you’re all about, and why 140 characters?  Why not 141?  Or 139? 

And why again do I care what Tom Cruise, Ashton Kutcher or Lindsay Lohan are doing at any point in the day?  You’ve got that edgy, digital voyeurism aspect that kind of creeps me out but kind of keeps me coming back for more. 

My wife dislikes you, unless she is using you as evidence as to what time I am going to bed.  Hard to deny a 2:25am tweet.  I tell her you are misunderstood, but we all know that’s a lie.  I still like Facebook more, but you’re good in a pinch.

Well happy birthday anyways… I’m off to play Cityville or Jedi Vs Sith on Facebook.

One comment

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

