Is Santa Claus Canadian, or was he really born in Asia?


Last night while I was driving my kids to swimming, the three of us were looking out the car windows at all the beautiful Christmas lights when suddenly my son noticed a life-sized plastic Santa Claus on someone’s front lawn.

“Ohhhhh!  Daddy!!!” Screams Stewie from the back seat… “I just saw Santa Claus.”

“Oh yeah, there he is”, I replied.  “I wonder what he’s doing there?” I questioned.

“He lives there!” replied Stewie.

“No!” blurts out Linus from the back seat.  “Santa was born in Asia!!!”

“No he wasn’t” I countered with.  “Santa was born in the North Pole which I believe makes him Canadian… eh?”

“No” says Linus a little more forceful.  “Perls (the “smartest” kid in grade 1) told me.  Santa was born is Asia.  Perls is smarter then you”.

“No he’s not!  He’s 6.  I’m 39.  There is no way he’s smarter than me, or you.” I said.

“Yes he is.  He’s smarter than both of us.  He’s smarter than the teacher”.

“Well, you know, Linus… I watched Perls at your birthday party this past weekend and he didn’t look that smart…”

“Well he is”.

So there you go folks… Santa was born is Asia and Perls should be teaching the class.  I am getting old…

Update:

Upon receiving some comments on this blog, through Facebook and on Twitter I wanted to discuss some of the feedback I recieved.

The North Pole belongs either to Canada or to Denmark.   The current odds are 60-40 that it belongs to Denmark.

After hearing me discuss this post with a friend last night my boys chimed in with more details on this character called Santa Claus.

From Linus: “Santa Claus died.  The Santa’s that live in the malls are just people in Santa costumes.  The cannot deliver presents on a magic sleigh, these guys have to use airplanes.  On their airplanes, they bring regular reindeer and instead of a big sleigh like Santa uses, they deliver toys on a crazy carpet…”

Oh yes.

And when this friend’s daughter pointed out that Santa is not real, Linus countered with this;

“Oh, I know.  He’s dead.  The Santa’s in the mall are just men in costumes.”

I think he believes Santa was real.  How cute.  Santa AND the Tooth Fairy.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Is Santa Claus Canadian, or was he really born in Asia?

  1. mamasnotes December 16, 2010 / 21:54

    “No he wasn’t” I countered with. “Santa was born in the North Pole which I believe makes him Canadian… eh?”

    …or Icelandic, since the North Pole is in the Artic sea just East of Greenland and North of Iceland! 😉

    Like

  2. Urban Daddy December 16, 2010 / 22:38

    Or Danish as there is a 60-40 chance that the North Pole belongs to Denmark.

    Like

  3. mamasnotes December 17, 2010 / 11:28

    Well the Danish are always trying to lay claim to Iceland too!

    Like

  4. Rumour Miller December 17, 2010 / 12:40

    Santa made an appearance at my oldest Christmas Program then 2 hours later we saw him at the mall. She was quite impressed with his time management skills and his speed. You know, since he was able to get to the mall so quickly.

    Gotta love this age.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

