Who Unfollowed Me on Twitter


Man, I am such a sucker for these things. First it was who blocked you on messenger, then it was who unfriended you on facebook, now it’s who unfollowed you on twitter.

Why in the world am I obsessed with this knowledge. It’s not like I would do or say anything to those who blocked / unfriended / unfollowed me.

Thankfully I have the inability to focus on a task for long periods of time which explains why I looked at the list of those who unfollowed me (there are over 500) and realized this list is of those who I follow and have not followed back…

I’m too tired to go through this list and remove people.

I do sometimes, okay not often, noticed I have twitter-spam and I removed those folks / bots, and I have noticed some people big into the “You follow me, and I’ll follow you, then you tell two friends and they tell two friends and so on and so on… and moron, and moron.

I’m just getting content with the fact that I followed a lot of people to get followers then realised it was a big waste of time, so I only follow those who I want to know, and don’t care if they follow me back or not.

And every now and then I get feedback from people who do remove me from stuff, like Facebook, over dinner in front of other couple… Oh yes. About 3 years ago a “friend” announced that he “unfriended” me for updating my status too often. He complained that people who do that are losers and have not enough to do.

I smiled, probably quite embarrassed since everyone was watching me, and announced that not only did I not notice his snub, but that he could have blocked my updates, since I have no blackberry / iPhone and was only updating it at night or on weekends…

Needless to say, about a year-and-a-half later there was a friend request from him which I accepted.

I know for a fact he does not read this blog because he wisely blocked my updates.

So what’s up with the rejection-obsession?

And what have you done when you’ve been blocked / unfriended / unfollowed?

4 thoughts on “Who Unfollowed Me on Twitter

  1. Eric December 15, 2010 / 09:45

    Since my work blocked Twitter and it;s applications, I have no time for Twitter. But on Facebook, I block the updates of the people who friend me out of association. I really don’t want to hear about your nights out partying and getting drunk. Oh and annoying co-workers

    Like

  2. Rebecca December 16, 2010 / 07:18

    I unfriended several people a few months back… people I went to school with that I didn’t stay in touch with. After reading their updates I remembered why we didn’t stay in touch.

    I was surprised when one person sent me nasty emails because they were offended that I unfriended them. I found it really strange.

    Like

  3. Urban Daddy December 16, 2010 / 17:26

    Eric – My wife and I have been having a debate about having co-workers on facebook. Provided you give them a limited view of your profile, are you ever concerned about having them see all your details?

    Rebecca – I’ve had the same thing happen more than once! People get downright pissed when you remove them, and I think it’s more about losing numbers than it is about losing you as a “friend”… I could be wrong however.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

