Is Wifi, Cordless Phones, Cellular Phones and other Technologies Microwaving us to Death? Ask my Neighbours and they’ll say YES!


Have you ever wondered if all of these new technologies – cordless telephones, wireless networks, blackberries, iphones, ipads, laptops, cellular phones, cell towers, etc. would one day be found to cause illness in humans? I personally never gave much thought to this… Until yesterday.

Let me take this one back a few months before I explain…

This past summer we moved. We moved into a brand new, just finished being built, house which came fully equipped with wifi.

Our neighbours to the East are a new build of their own which is about 75% done right now, so no one is living there. Behind us, there is a smaller war-time house but we back on to their driveway, more or less. Our neighbours to the West, however, have been living in this neighbourhood for MANY years, they are an older couple, and they have this beautiful custom-built bungalow which they take great care of. We actually share a walkway with them up the side of the house.

During our time here, we have found some minor “issues” come to light which bug these neighbours, but occurred with the builder and not us – for example, the walkway between the houses cracked in one spot, plus the water pools in the middle in another spot. As well, we have a balcony in between the bedrooms on the 2nd floor which overlooks their house but the builder agreed to cut the roof back to allow natural light in, but did not.

Not our fault, but issues nonetheless.

Our backyard was fenced in by the builder in peculiar manner as there are some old, rather large trees on the West and North property lines and builder told us that our neighbours wanted the trees, hence the fence jots in, around, and back out of the trees. It looks nice, but if we ever opt to take the trees down, we lose the shade, but get more property – if we move the fence back (not THAT much, but some more).

My neighbour tells me he wanted the trees down but the builder didn’t want to pay to have them removed… $950.00.

See where this is going…

And once we had our deck made larger, the gate to our backyard was moved from opening inside to opening outside and that was a huge problem for our neighbours. They mentioned it many times how much they disliked this door, they even went as far as to tell me it was WRONG for doors to open out, and they feared this gate was going to swing open and hurt them in a strong wind.

I’d love to accomodate them for the sake of being neighbours for the next 10-15 years, but the deck on the inside would have to be moved and if I’m going to fork out the dollars to move that part, I’m taking down trees and claiming back my property around the trees by moving the fence out too… Something they obviously are not in favour of.

So I was not surprised when my wife called me to tell me that our neighbours had come knocking on the door with a third person to discuss something.

I figured it was the gate, or the balcony, or that my car parks too close to the walkway… The list is endless.

Instead, they explained to us that in the past few months since we’ve been there, the woman next door had been getting sicker and sicker each day. Heart palpultations, fainting, ringing in her ears, and in the past couple weeks she has been to the hospital 4 times, and after a barrage of tests, nothing had been found… Until that day.

As the story goes – and I was brought up to speed yesterday – one of thier clients (they’re in real estate) was looking for a detached house away from houses with wifi, or cordless phones because this woman had become alergic (for lack of a better term) to the microwaves that get emitted from these technologies.

The woman told me that she was living in a penthouse condo and the owner filled the top of the condo with cell towers and after a few months she experienced the same symptoms, so she went to doctors, who found nothing wrong with her. Through research and perserverance, she found a doctor just outside Toronto who told her that she was essentially being microwaved to death and that due to oversaturation of these waves she would have to find somewhere to live where the neighbours did not have wifi or cordless phones.

This woman bought a geiger counter and yesterday she had it at my neighbours home.

I was invited over for this demonstration as they ran this geiger counter the full length of their wall which faces our house and I heard how the counter was silent until it hit the mid-way point, when it started to go nuts. That point on their house coincided with our office and our cordless phone. I phone urban mummy and asked her to unplug the cordpess phone – while listening to the geiger counter going nuts – and when she did unplug the phone, the counter fell silent in my neighbours home.

This woman then proceeded to demonstrate the effects of cordless phones on this counter by using my neighbours old cordless phone, then contrasting it to the emissions coming from the new one they had just purchased.

The difference between emissions from both phones was nothing short of remarkable.

So as a kind gesture they gave me a new, low-emmission, cordless phone which they had bought for us, to use in place of the one that was “wrecking-havoc” on their house and making the wife sick.

I really thought the whole time that they were off their rocker – obviously, and even when I came home and spoke to urban mummy (a chemical engineer by education, science teacher by training and all around super-genius) and she explained that the counter would go off depending on the amounts of microwaves it was looking for.

I get that.
But if some cordless phones really do emit that amount of microwaves, do I really want that sitting by my bed? If there are some symptoms which are common with being microwaved, them I’m going to toss the one by my head and replace it with a land line, hard wired phone for the bedroom.

But now I want to know more… More for me to be sure that my neighbours are not pulling my very gullable leg – not thinking they bugged the phone or anything – but need facts to be able to make an informed decision as to whether this gets done now, or down the road.

So I googled this topic and found a couple articles. Feel free to read them and chime in with your thoughts…

Do you have microwave illness – http://prd34.blogspot.com/2007/07/cell-phones-hurt-children-even-worse.html

Health Canada denies that wireless networks makes kids sick…

http://www.canada.com/health/Board+rejects+concern+wireless+Internet+makes+kids+sick/3404531/story.html

http://www.sott.net/articles/show/216775-DECT-Cordless-Phones-and-WiFi-Causes-Heart-Irregularities

http://ezinearticles.com/?The-Dangers-of-Cordless-Phones-and-Wifi&id=2890119

http://wifinetnews.com/archives/2010/02/electromagnetic_sickness_examined_by_la_times.html

http://www.watershedsentinel.ca/content/cell-phones-wifi-and-you

So have a read of these articles and you will see people raising concerns, and so-called “experts” denying there is any link.

So, what do you think?  Is this going to change the way you buy technologies in your house?  Or am I (they) off my rocker?  It’s all a little weird, yet normal at the same time…

3 thoughts on “Is Wifi, Cordless Phones, Cellular Phones and other Technologies Microwaving us to Death? Ask my Neighbours and they’ll say YES!

  1. SciFi Dad November 3, 2010 / 06:39

    OK, I highly doubt that it was an actual geiger counter that they used… they’re used for detecting ionizing radiation, not EMF (electromagnetic fields) which is what she’s complaining about.

    Your wife was right: they were probably looking for a specific frequency (you probably had a 5.0 GHz phone while they gave you a 900MHz or something); you’re still producing EMF, just at a different frequency. I find it interesting that you mention “no WiFi” but her demonstration didn’t involve you turning your router off. WiFi runs at 2.4GHz; like I said, your phone was probably 5.0GHz, so they tuned their meter to detect that band, not the 2.4GHz band.

    Do some research. You’ll learn that your dishwasher produces more EMF than many things you’re terrified are cooking your innards. I’d be willing to bet if your neighbour let you borrow her meter that you’d see the same spike with several other household items when you turned them on and off (for example: home theatre receivers, hair dryers, et cetera).

    In fact, if you’re so inclined, play up your fear to your neighbour and ask her to give you the manufacturer and model number of the unit she uses, then email it to me and we can discuss it further.

    And, if it lends any credence to my comment, I’m an electrical engineer.

    Like

    • Urban Daddy November 3, 2010 / 07:40

      I wrote this with you in mind.

      The offending cordless phone we had was 6.0GHz, a GE. The one they gave us is 5.8GHz, but a vTech.

      I didn’t know about the dishwasher, etc. I’m going to research.

      Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

