This Urban Daddy’s favourite instant coffee – Nescafe Encore


I really did not intend on writing a post about what kind of instant coffee I like.  It’s kind of personal and a little (okay a lot) odd.  But this post kind of fell into my lap on Friday morning…

Background:

Pretty much every day on my way into the office I grab my one and only cup of coffee and that usually is a Tim Horton’s large double double, except for the odd morning where I head to Java Joe’s for something different.

This Friday morning I came into the office with a large cup of pumpkin spice coffee from Java Joes and upon smelling the strong scents of pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves, one of my staff asked me what was in my cup. 

Well I showed him mine and he showed me his…

He was drinking instant coffee.

So I asked him what kind it was.  He said, “the kind in the green bottle”.

Ugh, I thought to myself.  Most instant coffee is (as quoted by my kids) gross beef. 

“Have you tried Nescafe’s Encore coffee?” I asked him.  “It has chicory”.

“What is chicory?” he said.

“I don’t really know”, I said, “but I’ll Google it right now”.

So here is what I found.

Chicory – used as a coffee filler or substitute – also known as blue-sailors due to it’s blue flowered herb and long white root.  Parts of chicory, known as endive, are found in salads, as either a vegetable or a green.

The thick chicory root is roasted and powdered to be added to coffee. The origins of adding chicory to coffee as a filler and flavor enhancer began as early as the 15th century. The tradition spread to the French, and it became common in parts of Europe where coffee could not be grown or because it was cheaper.

Eventually, it became quite popular in the U.S., specifically in New Orleans. Unlike coffee, chicory does not contain caffeine.  It tends to have a flavor like chocolate.

The salad versions of chicory come in broad and curly leafed varieties. The narrow-leaved version is also called curly endive and the broad leafed variety is also known as escarole.  The outer leaves are green and have a bitter taste.  Inner leaves are lighter in color, even white, and have a mild taste.  Endive is often added to blander lettuces in a salad to add flavor.

Chicory is also purported to have several health benefits, including possibly aiding in digestion.  Because it contains a compound called inulin, a soluble fiber, chicory may assist digestion by aiding the probiotic bacteria in the digestive tract.

So with all that, I recommend you try this coffee;

6 thoughts on “This Urban Daddy’s favourite instant coffee – Nescafe Encore

  1. Ann sparkes November 18, 2015 / 6:57 am

    I have GI tract problems. I feel guilty when I drink regular coffee. Today I found Nescafé Encore and was very happy to discover that chicory has health benefits.

    Like

  2. Iivy June 8, 2013 / 10:43 am

    This is a mild coffee, I enjoy it on the weekend!

    Like

  3. Ruth Fleming February 17, 2013 / 10:06 am

    I have drank Nescafe Encore most of my life. Why are a lot of grocery stores not stocking it?

    Like

    • The Urban Daddy February 20, 2013 / 11:49 am

      Hi Ruth,

      Interesting. I noticed that fewer and fewer stores wee carrying it here in Toronto, and I thought because of it’s price. While the other blends tend to go on sale and drop as low as $1.99 sometimes, the Encore blend seems to stay around $6.50 and on sale only go as low as $3.99.

      Like

  4. Floyd November 17, 2011 / 1:23 pm

    Well…you got some bonus meat in your jar and didn’t have to pay for it!!!!!!!!

    Like

  5. Rosemary February 28, 2011 / 10:48 am

    Well, I am glad you are enjoying your coffee. I was too until I found a long-legged bug floating in the bottom of my cup that I never left (besides it is winter). I have to discard 2/3 of the jar and I will not be buying another jar of instant coffee from Nescafe. I will also be emailing them with a picture of the offending remains.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

