A new Phobia…


A while back my 3 year old Stewie was at a birthday party at a place called the Active Kids Zone (don’t go there, please… details to follow).  During the party, Mr. Independant decided he had to pee and after telling his mummy that he had to pee, he went off to the bathroom to relive himself. 

His latest trick, when going to the bathroom himself is to lock the door so no one comes in.  He actually locks the bathroom doors in our house (although sadly he does this upon exiting the bathroom too).

So with our other boy playing inside and my wife and I with the baby, nobody noticed that little Stewie had locked himself in the bathroom and was crying, trying to get someone to help him get out. 

After being in there for a good 5 minutes, another mother alerted us that he was in there and she freed him.

He clung to us the rest of the party.

The impact of that event stays with us to this day.

Just tonight, for example, after being in bed for a good hour he appeared in our bedroom and said to my wife; “Do you remember when I was locked in the bathroom?”

“Yes” She replied.

“I did not like that”, he said.  “I don’t want to go back there”, he finished with.

I even noticed that for a week and a half, he would ask me at night questions about being locked in the bathroom.  It really bothered him.

But now he developed a new phobia…

He will not get into the car unless one of us are in it and ready to drive. 

I used to leave him in the car when he was sleeping, either stay with him or wander in and out of the house but all of a sudden he won’t get in the car unless someone is in it and ready to drive.

Tonight, for example, I put him, his older brother and baby sister in the car, with my wife, and started the car before leaving to get something from in the house (don’t worry, it’s a hybrid… Only running on battery) and when I came back out 30 seconds later the car was off, only to hear from my wife that our son was freaking out.  He mentioned something about the car rolling away.

I’ll have to get to the bottom of this.

Has this happened to you?  How have you coped with it?

4 thoughts on “A new Phobia…

  1. Eric May 12, 2010 / 07:25

    Sounds pretty intense. My daughter (4) is afraid of automatic flushing toilets. One time she was on there, got off and it roared a giant flush. I have to hold my hand over the sensor every time we make a stop.

    Like

  2. mapsgirl May 12, 2010 / 08:55

    Poor Stewie…that’s horrible. I wish I had some advice. Hopefully you can get to the bottom of it quickly.

    Like

  3. Jo May 12, 2010 / 15:39

    Thats hard. I lost my son at the CBC kids day last year downtown. Longest 10 minutes of my life. He was traumatized by it so I know what you are up against. My son has totally gotten over it, it took lots of re-assurance (we also had all the questions after the fact) and a reminder or two about staying close. Just keep reminding him that he is ok and that you are keeping an extra close eye on him. Time heals Give him a hug from us!

    Like

  4. Sarah May 14, 2010 / 07:21

    Poor guy. In the last month my youngest son has been lost in Sears (for long enough that they had to put the entire mall into CODE ADAM), locked himself in the changeroom at swimming and refused to come out, locked himself in the washroom at a restaurant and refused to come out and lost in the library. I would like to add a small disclaimer that he was with Daddy all but the time he locked himself in the restaurant bathroom. Unfortunately my child has no fear, he is only 2.5 and none of these events have bothered him in the least. In Sears, he ended up finally finding my husband instead of the other way around, and he was laughing his head off. So in reverse of your situation this is my new phobia not his. I am terrified of him getting lost or wandering off. I have honestly recently had nightmares about him wandering out of the house and me having to go looking for him in a panic.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

