A re-introduction to the Urban Daddy


Well, this is finally it. My 500th post. I wanted to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has taken time to read any of my posts, and especially those of you who took the time to comment.

For my new reader and as a refresher for some older ones, I wanted to (re) introduce myself.

Hello!

Welcome to my blog.

I am an Urban Daddy, born and raised in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. 

I have 3 children under 5 years old, I’ve been married almost 9 years and I’ve been blogging under this name for almost 6 years. 

I tweet under realurbandaddy as there is a company out of New York called urbandaddy.com who do something nowhere near related to me.

My family and I are community activists.  When the City of Toronto placed a temporary dump site in the middle of my kids’ summer day camp with short notice on a Friday night, my family and I went there to protest and advise all the dumpers keep their garbage a little longer.  In 3 hours we managed to turn away 3 cars – one was a porshe, one was a benz and one a beemer.  We live in a nice part of the City which means we pay a ton of property tax and expect a lot from the elected officials of this city.  They must be fiscally responsible and someone has to hold them accountable… Why not you and me.

I’ve been involved in resident’s organizations, I have re-started one which was inactive and I have been on working groups relating to developments within this city, such as the Minto Towers and Rio Can development at 1717 Avenue Road.

I have been a volunteer for as long as I can remember.  When I was young my family were the northern depot for the MS Carnation Day.  In my teens I became an ice hockey coach in Richmond Hill and North Toronto, which I did for 8 years.  I have been a volunteer for the Canadian Cancer Society daffodil day (must be something about flowers, eh?) and my wife and I have been volunteering with a big brothers program for about 7 years.

I’m the guy who sees the broken stop sign, massive pot hole, or broken manhole and flips that information on to the City for repairs.  I’m the Dad who knows the City Councillor by name and she knows me.  I’m the Dad who cut the grass in the park with a push mower last summer when the inside and outside workers went on strike so my kids and about 300 others could continue playing Sportball soccer.

As a green family, the CBC was going to do a story on us during the Copenhagen summit – by showing us how to be greener but they could not find substantial areas for us to improve in.

So follow me.  Leave comments.  Ask questions.  If I can help, I will.  As I continue to explore, find, locate and enjoy this city, I will post about it. Also, if you have had an opportunity to do something good for the community, post it here and tell me all about it. Feel good. Be proud.

Thanks for coming by!

The Real Urban Daddy.

3 thoughts on “A re-introduction to the Urban Daddy

  1. Laural May 10, 2010 / 12:46 pm

    Thanks for the reintroduction.
    I’ve always thought you were pretty great, but I loved the summary.
    Happy 500th!

    Like

  2. mapsgirl May 10, 2010 / 11:20 am

    Nice to meet you again! LOL!

    Sorry for you having to mow he lawn but I think that’s great that you did that for the community 🙂

    We do a lot of volunteer stuff as well. I can’t wait to get my kids more involved but right now they’re still pretty young.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

