Rock Win! Rock Win!


I just posted this on my sports blog, www.daddyknowssports.wordpress.com.  Thought I would re-post it here because I’m just so thrilled that the Toronto Rock lacrosse team won the game tonight against the Buffalo Bandits down at the Air Canada Centre.

Here is my post;

Rock Win!  Rock Win!!

Whew!  What a game!!!

I finally made it down to a Toronto Rock lacrosse game this year – it was tonight – and it was the Rock’s first playoff game against the yucky, hated Buffalo Bandits. 

Needless to say, those with season’s seats around my seats were shocked that I made it down after missing all 8 regular season games.  I explained that with a newborn and 2 other kids it would be unfair (read: grounds for divorce) to leave my wife with all three of them while I enjoy the hitting, fighting, loud music and scoring that is a Toronto Rock lacrosse game.

But I made it.  Me and K-Hof.

The game:

Toronto managed to jump (err, crawl) out to a 5-0 deficit by the end of the 1st quarter and by that time there were some eyes looking my way and some mumbling about me being a jinx or something like that.  “If the Rock don’t score by the 4th quarter, I will leave”, I said.

5-1.

6-1.

6-3 by half time.

By half time when I run to get my large double double from Tim Hortons, I had been given a beer, on the house, by the server (I don’t drink beer but I guzzled this one back!) and high-fived the attendant.  K-Hof, in his first lacrosse game was finally getting into it.  The buffalo fans had stopped their chant of we want 7, and the 3 Buffalo fans in the platinum seats in front of my gold seats, with “SOAP” on the back of their jerseys had stopped being asses.  The rock MUST score.

 7-3.

 Shit!

But the 3rd quarter usually belongs to the Rock and tonight was no different.  By the end of the 3rd quarter it was 11-9 Buffalo.

Queue the comeback…

Game over.  13-11 Rock.  The place was electric and I literally jumped out of my seat, straight up in the air with my arms raised as the Rock tied the game.  The whole arena stood for the last minute of the game.

Whew!

One for the memory book.

The free popcorn on the way out was a nice touch.

This is why I will continue to keep my season’s seat to the Toronto Rock.  The sport is awesome and the Rock are Toronto’s on playoff team.  And while I know the Rock outdraw the Toronto Blue Jays early in the blue birds season, the lacrosse crowd is second to none for noise and participation.  Rock games are a spectacle.

Go Rock Go!

Round 2 is coming up!!!

And I just figured out why there were a LOT of freaks downtown today.  The pot rally was today, so all the vampires and stones have crept out of the woodwork…  Oddly enough, even though I have never smoked pot, I do feel it should be legalized.  Legalized not so that kids can smoke up in the park at night before they spray paint the town, but because I want the tax money on the cigs to go into the government’s coffers.  Tax cigarettes, tax pot, tax alcohol.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

