Does this sound familiar?


For afternoon snack today, my boys and I decided to have fruit salad.

I went to the fridge and ran down a list of fruits while the boys sat at the breakfast bar ready to watch me create their treat.

Granny Smith apple, check.
Kiwi, check.
Nectarine, check.
Banana, check.

The bowl is filling up so I decide not to add the strawberries, mango and red pear.

Knowing my little one loves yogurt I offer it to him with his fruit salad. The older one replies that he does not want yogurt, and since my house is a monkey-see, monkey-do house, the little one declines the yogurt. Fine.

I fill their bowls when the little one starts to whine a bit.

“What’s wrong?” I ask him, already knowing the answer.

“I want yogurt”, he replies.

So in goes the yogurt.

The boys eat their fruit salad, the bigger boys chows down and finishes his bowl, the little on savours every bite of fruit and yogurt.

I leave the room.

Then I hear crying,

I walk back expecting to see the little on trying to push the big one off his stool (oh yes, he’s done that before!), but there is my little boy with crocodile tears racing down his cheeks.

“What’s wrong?” I ask.

“[Big brother] took all the fruit.”

So I look at the giant bowl I made and there is only a little bit left. Sure enough, my older boy had re-filled his bowl leaving about 3 tablespoons of diced fruit left the bowl. Little boy, who is crying still has 1/2 his bowl left to eat.

Mummy, who has arrived, takes the rest of the fruit salad and scoops it into little boy’s bowl.

Then come the tears…

“You gave me too much” he wails. “I can’t eat all that”.

My wife and I look at each other and she leaves.

I turn on the TV to Teletoon and I leave too.

OY.

Update: Big boy’s bowl is empty. Little boy has not touched his bowl. I put in some “seeds” (unsalted raw sunflower seeds), and he has started up eating again.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

