Conan O’Brien Tweets


I have to admit, I never liked Conan O’Brien.  Didn’t find him funny.  Don’t like his hair.  Nothing about him.  Heck, I don’t even know how to spell his last name.  I kept adding an “a” instead of an “e” in his last name.   He was not even on my radar… Unit he got screwed by NBC.  Now I feel for the guy.  

So as a twit myself – as in someone who is on twitter in order to post stupid meaningless comments to a bunch of strangers – I was intrigued by the fact that Conan is now on twitter too. 

I actually do not understand the point of Twitter, maybe because I don’t have many friends on it, or really have conversations, but I think with the number of celebs who have publically dumped their twitter accounts – read: stupid professional athletes too – Conan could save Twitter from the same fate as ICQ. 

Here is the story. 

On Wednesday, Conan broke his silence through what is currently one of the most popular mediums for celebrities: Twitter. “Today I interviewed a squirrel in my backyard and then threw to commercial,” he tweeted. “Somebody help me.” With just one tweet and less than 24 hours since signing up for the social-networking site, O’Brien has already gained over 235,000 followers. 

At the beginning of the year, O’Brien and his longtime employer NBC were involved in a much publicized dispute over the future of The Tonight Show, after receiving low ratings due to a failed experiment that involved moving previous “Tonight Show” host Jay Leno to a 10 pm time slot and letting O’Brien host the show, NBC proposed to push Leno’s new show to 11:30 and bump O’Brien’s “Tonight Show” back to 12:05 am.  Believing that a time slot shift would “seriously damage” what Conan called “the greatest franchise in the history of broadcasting,” O’Brien chose to walk away from the network with a $33 million settlement deal. 

The comedian sardonically joked about the ordeal in the “Bio” section of his Twitter profile: “I had a show. Then I had a different show. Now I have a Twitter account.” 

Conan chose to create a Twitter account just days before Jay Leno will resume hosting “The Tonight Show” on Monday, March 1. And judging from the traffic on his Twitter, it’s clear that his army of dedicated fans still care what the comedian has to say. 

This is the biggest screw job since Vince McMahon screwed then WWF champion Bret “Hitman” Hart in Montreal by giving the world title to Shawn Michaels. 

I’m just saying…  I’m going to add him…

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

