Brittany Murphy dead


I was standing in a warehouse in Mississauga, Ontario (just West of Toronto) when my wife asked me if I knew who Brittany Murphy was.  I knew the name and I could picture her, so I replied, “yes”.

“She’s dead” my wife blurted out.

Odd.  I thought she was young… Very young.

Turns out I was right.  She was 32 years old and she died from “cardiac arrest”… At 32?  Cardiac arrest???  Drug OD I thought to myself.  When will they learn? 

I thought it would be Brittany Spears or Lindsay Lohan first…

So what can I tell you about Brittany Murphy that I did not know…

Well, she was best known for her acting in the movies; Clueless, and 8 Mile.   She also starred in such hits as Sin City, and Girl, Interrupted.

Murphy was born in Atlanta and raised in New Jersey.

Her movie career took off when she co-starred as one of Alicia Silverstone’s best friends in the hit 1995 comedy Clueless (even I saw this movie!)  She also had a number of voice roles, most notable as Luanne in the Fox animated series King of the Hill (who knew!) and in the movie Happy Feet.  And she also sang…

It is being reported that she was found unconscious by her mother Sharon at the home of Murphy’s husband, screenwriter Simon Monjack (married 2007), in Los Angeles in the early hours of Dec. 20. She was rushed to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, where she was pronounced dead.

Like I said earlier, 32 year old females don’t just die of heart attacks.  DJ Samantha Ronson wondered on her twitter account when G-d was going to stop calling people back, and I was tempted to say when people stop abusing their bodies with drugs.  I know it’s sad and unfair of me to jump to conclusions but there has been a plethora of celebrities who have died of accidental overdoses, just like a bunch of athletes dying from stupidity (see: Chris Henry) or steroids (see: professional wrestling and football).

While these celeb deaths used to shock me, they are becoming second nature now.  Sad.  Twitter has been over capacity for most the evening and RIP Brittany Murphy is the number 1 trending topic.

And before I posted this story, I went to see if there were any updates but instead of going to mainstream media, I went to the new media kings, x17, TMZ and other’s as they seem to have all the good stuff.  But they had nothing new… Yet…

One thought on “Brittany Murphy dead

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

