August 15, 2008


It was one year ago today that the HR recruiter of the company I now work for contacted me on my cell phone to see if I was still looking for work.

Thinking it was yet another recruiter who wanted to see me to pad their stats and prove their worth, I agreed to meet them the following day. 

She urged that I read up on the company through their website.  I did.  I realized the company was either legit, or they had great IT people who created and managed a kick-ass site.

I had every reason to be sceptical… I had a back ground in tax, was a level 3 CGA, had my MBA and had taken, but not completed my Canadian Securities Course.  I was also pushing the project management work that I had completed while working in the government.  This HR recruiter had a position which needed each and everyone of these skill sets…

Uh huh… Sure.

So down I went and met the HR recruiter.  Asked a bunch of questions and knew once I left, I was going back to government hell.

As I left the subway on my way back home, my cell phone rang and it was my wife.  Turns out the recruiter was so impressed with me that she wanted to set up another interview  with two of the GM’s ASAP.  I offered to turn around and go back on the subway, back downtown.  We agreed upon the following day.

I immediately called into the office and took the rest of the week off.  We  were going up to a resort north of the city the following week and I could use the extra day off.

I remember sitting on the bed talking with my gal, both of us laughing at how funny it would be for me to land a manager position considering all the hurdles I had to jump over in the government just to be a team leader, and how they prevented my growth there over and over again.

I went to the interview, asked a bunch of questions, remained calm when presented with the challenges, the task ahead and the risks involved.  After being told for years and years that you’re no good, it is refreshing to talk about successes and feel validated.

I thought the interview went well, but as in the past, expected it to end there.  I went home, wrote up thank you notes and mailed them off to the GM’sand the HR recruiter, but not before stepping off the subway yet again, to arrange a 3rd interview with the VP of Operations at this global company – a telephone interview – to be conducted at this resort we were going to.  This interview lasted 2 hours.  They told me it would take some time, possibly a week to make a decision before making me an offer.  By 3pm that day, I had the offer in my email.

We spent the next week negotiating and I started September 15th – the first official day of the recession.

I love my job!

Today is August 15th.

This week we’re going back to that resort.

September 15th will mark my first year there.

Funny how a year can go by so quickly…

One thought on “August 15, 2008

  1. Becky August 16, 2009 / 8:07 pm

    I am so happy for you guys!! You have been through quite an ordeal with your other job.

    Congrats on your anniversary.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

