Thoughts of Parenting, Sports and… Taxes…


Random things rolling through my head at this exact moment:

So rumour has it that Mats Sundin wants to leave the Toronto Maple Leafs and go play for the New York Rangers, eh? Hmmmm. He might have just turn down $10 million a year from the Vancouver Canucks, so I don’t buy it.  Might be a contract ploy.

This is yet another reason why I love my son, Linus:

Linus at 4-years-old, already knows that we ask him what he did and what he ate when he goes to see Grandma and Grandpa.  He’s always been spot on and able to recollect things like that, so we can rely on his word as the truth… So far, at least.  Tonight, however, there was a blip on the radar.

Apparently, us asking him, and then using that information against his grandparents, have caused his grandparents to warn him about what he tells us…

Maybe time for a new plan!

After denying everything, I went right for the jugular, and asked him if he ate “cookies or chocolate” while there, which have always been a no no.

He not only caved on that answer but he went a tad further by telling us that he liked it!

He also said he had a bath which he liked as well.

He also said they went for a ride… “in the black car… in a car seat… with no seat belt, he held it shut.”

Gulp.

He was joking.

Funny kid.

Last night at Sportball soccer, Linus actually kicked the ball twice during the game as he took time from sucking on the front of his shirt.

I’m SO proud of him.

I yelled and clapped and he looked really excited.

I don’t care if he ever touched the ball (not really) but I just want him to have fun (again, not really). 🙂

Also thinking about why I am so stressed out? I’m on vacation until September?  Must be the 2 kids, MBA school and life…

Anyone know where I can buy tax books? Like on GST, and stuff like that? Can’t get them from a library… My wife mentioned something called the Internet, but I think she’s going crazy.  This Internet thing is just a fad…

Spent most of the day trekking around downtown Toronto with my wife and kids looking for jewelry supply companies and silver beads… Found a few, she picked up quite a beautiful haul. Look for some of her fantastic stuff posted here.

What is the best way to get a child into a different school district? I’ve heard about buying a house in that area as an option, as I’ve also heard that tears work… Suggestions anyone?

Had my last softball game of the season tonight – and by far our team’s best game although we lost due to some HORRIBLE umpiring. I went 3 for 4, my one out was a rocket to deep left field and I threw 2 runners out at second base from the outfield on singles. Made a few catches… All in all a great way to end a season.   Ball hockey begins Thursday!!!

Thinking I might sleep now that I’ve gotten all this off my chest…

Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Thoughts of Parenting, Sports and… Taxes…

  1. mapsgirl August 20, 2008 / 14:57

    Gotta love little kids “playing” soccer! They either do their own thing or run around in one big pack! LOL!

    As for the school thing… Do you have any relatives in another school district? Maybe your “permanent residential address” happens to be the same?

    You don’t like your school district? Or just the school closest to your house?

    Like

  2. Mamalooper August 21, 2008 / 14:11

    You can use an address of a friend/relative in that other district. The problem, though, is when it comes to playdates and you’ll be “outed”.

    What school are you looking at?

    Like

  3. Sarah August 21, 2008 / 19:31

    If your baby sitter is in another district you can request kids go near to the babysitter’s school…then all you have to do is find a friend/relative in that district who is willing to pretend they babysit for you!

    That way you don’t have to lie to the school board about your home address etc and other parents don’t question why you aren’t close for play dates.

    Like

  4. Urban Daddy August 25, 2008 / 13:20

    Mapsgirl – I wish we did, but we don’t know anyone in that district, but it is sooo close to us, we can smell the fumes.

    The schools in our district are ok, to barely ok. The other district we like has some of the highest rated schools in our province.

    Mamalooper – I believe John Fisher…

    Sarah – I did not know that. What an interesting idea – something I am going to have to look into.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

