Time to re-focus…

It’s time!

Time to re-focus.

Time to act, no more just talking!

It’s time for the 3-F’s to take a more prominent role in my life… Focus, Fitness and Family Fun! (Hmmm, that might actually be 4-F’s (family fun has 2-F’s…)

You see I’m writing this post having just gotten out of the shower after the longest (time-wise and I’m sure distance too) run of my life!

I ran for 50 minutes and was not once out of breathe, or out of gas.  I was just out of time (I wanted to spend time with UrbanMummy before bed) and I ran out of water!

I decided last month that I needed a goal in order to drop the 30 pounds of baby weight I gained with Linus (UM is such a great cook too!) and because I’m finally feeling better after a year-long physiotherapy session to heal my herniated disc in my back,  so I set my sights on the Toronto Marathon, October 17th.

Originally I wanted to attempt the 5K but I can do that now after a month of running, so I am looking at the 10K with an eye on the half marathon (26K) – but I’ll never be able to do a half, I cannot stay focussed that long – I get bored.

It’s all so very exciting considering where I came from – former fatty – herniated disk in my lower back… I feel good!

The exercise affords me clarity and helps put me in a really good place.  After such a great run, I realized I need to spend less time during the day on things that are not productive for me like coffee breaks and chatting with colleagues and I need to spend more time taking care of tasks, to help me develop to where I feel I should be.  Besides being trapped in a position where I have never been given a chance to use my MBA skills, I managed to get myself screened into 3 competitions (the government’s way of promoting people), one in HR, one as a manager, and one as a senior manager.

I have set my sites on getting into a Finance role outside the government, and these jobs require skills and I need to focus on developing my competencies because no one is going to do it for me.  I’m beyond ready to manage and I have all this great knowledge about the government and how it operates which can help people in their interactions with the CRA.

My focus and concentration today have also made it perfectly clear to me that I want to have fun with my family and to do that means getting out with UM! I need that. Now. I’ll probably wait until after our family trip to NY/NJ at the end of the month, but getting out more – without the kids – would help my sanity!

So I’m going to do some stretching, grab a book to read and hop into bed.

G’nite all.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Time to re-focus…

  1. Mac and Cheese says:

    Good for you on all of it, but especially the running. Too painful for me.

  2. ourlittlefunnybunny says:

    wow running….that’s great…and here I am trying to focus more on coffee breaks and less on work ;)

  3. Laural Dawn says:

    I’m doing the same thing – trying to get into shape and run again.
    A 5k is still really hard for me, but I was debating the same race. Maybe I’ll see ya there?

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,039 other followers

