Home » Uncategorized » Thoughts of The Urban Daddy for the last week of November 2006.

Thoughts of The Urban Daddy for the last week of November 2006.

It’s November 30th and the temperature in Toronto is a balmy 15C, or like 45F. It should be 0.  Not that I’m complaining but can you say “global warming”?!?

I want to run for Provincial Politics one day? Or do I? Maybe I should start municipally?  I started up a residents organization for the 5500 residents in my community and were delivered flyers to each and every resident.  It was exciting, great exercise and a great way to meet people in the community.  I have also arranged a fundraiser for our new city councilor, Karen Stintz.  She’s young, involved and looks to be a great councillor.  One day she will run for Mayor!

I have always wanted to yell, “you can’t handle the truth”. Oops… Different dream. Problem is… City councillors make around $95K a year, while MPP’s (provincial government) make like $80K. Who can live on $80K in the City of Toronto??? Geez.

My Toronto Raptors are 5-10 on the season but are still 1 game out of first place… Love it!

News yesterday indicated that wrestling star, “Rowdy” Roddy Piper has cancer. My thoughts are with you!

My friend, and Uber-talented Jazz musician, Dr. Andrew Jacob Scott (go buy his CD’s!!!), is playing a gig this week that will see him rubbing shoulders with Hockey legends Steve Yzerman, Igor Larionov and Paul Coffey to name a few.  He asked me to find some hockey cards to get signed and I found them today – I have over a couple hundred thousand cards and need to find a buyer for the commons and lesser none players not in sets. Problem is… The industry sucks and when collecting sets as a kid, I never imagined that I would have 2 boys to pass them along to. Good thing I have 2 Gretzky rookie cards, eh?

Today my boy looked at the cover of the Hockey News magazine and after a little prompting said, “Modano, Sakic” for the 2 players on the cover. Ahhhh. Brought tears to my eyes.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts of The Urban Daddy for the last week of November 2006.

  1. Next thing you know, you’re going to come out of a cornfield and he’s going to ask you “Hey Dad, you wanna have a catch?” (Tears- Every time!)

    My Bills lost to another Division leader by 3 points.
    Sports gets infinitely more fun when you win the 3 point games consistently rather than lose them. I remember the same was true when the raptors started getting awesome. They’d win the close ones.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

