Can you smell that too??? It’s summer and Toronto stinks… Why?!? And how about the CNE??


I can smell it, can you? I am born and raised in this City and I have never, ever had to encounter this type of smell before…

Maybe it’s just a Toronto thing, maybe not. Maybe it’s a global thing, maybe not, but for the past couple weeks, when I walk from the house to the subway, I get overwhelmed with this horrible smell of what I assume is garbage.

It’s really horrible. I have actually had to hold my breath for prolonged periods while walking.

I thought to post as maybe some of the local Toronto bloggers may be finding the same problem – at which point I can reach out to my City Councillor, Karen Stintz, to see waht the City is planning to do about it, or maybe other bloggers are finding the same thing and that would help confirm it’s an environment thing…

I have tried different routes to the subway, walked to the office directly, even checked my clothes and my bag to see if they (or me) is the offending party but everything checks out.

UGH.

And on a side note…

Who has gone to the CNE this year?

I really wanted to get out to the EX this year – I like the EX. As a kid I used to go down every year with my family including my gradparets. My grandfather was a wiz on the game where you have to drop a ring onto a coke bottle. He was so good at it, that when we met them down there, they always had the huge animals in their arms and eventually he was banned from the game. While I hated the buildings and never got to go on the rides, I loved the end of summer ritual which included the food building and many givaways.

I worry that UrbanMummy and Linus would get bored being down there – him at almost 2 years old and her 7 1/2 months pregnant – but on the plus side, I can for sure dominate the “Whack-a-mole” game and bring home some toys. I can win EVERY time!!! Unless the game is fixed – and they usually are at the CNE, but once I find the one that works, I win every time.

This is the same reason we didn’t make it to the zoo this summer. 😦

Is it worth going to the CNE? Or will I be okay to miss it?

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

