Ouch… Glass in the heel hurts.


Just what I needed to go along with my achy back, was to step on a big hunk of broken glass in my backyard, only to have it plunge deep into my heel.

This was my Thursday night adventure while showing my father-in-law the newly cleared back garden, and explaining when the fence was going in. I was barefoot, and stepping out of the garden to keep my son from coming in and wham… pain in the heel.

Trying to look cool in front of my in-laws, wife and kids, I calmly looked at my heel, saw a giant chunk of glass stuck in there, pulled it out and watched the blood start to gush out.

With that, I walked ever so carefully back to the house, leaving trails of blood everywhere, and put so napkins on my heel as I hobbled my way upstairs to the bathroom.

I thought it would make good sense to clean it off in the shower, so I hopped in and when I looked down it has bled so much that it looked like someone had died in there… Who knew there was so much blood in ones heel??

Nonetheless, after some polysporin and band aids, I spent today trying to figure out what hurt more, my back and left leg, or right heel. I’m really not this injury-prone. Well, yes I am.  I play hard.  I just have a very high pain threshold and keep going until something breaks.

Fortunately, the swelling is coming down and I suspect only a few days of limping before going back to, well limping. :)\

4 thoughts on “Ouch… Glass in the heel hurts.

  1. Haley-O August 12, 2006 / 04:14

    Ouch!! good thing you stepped on it, though, and not Happy Boy–right!? Poor you! Feel better!

    Like

  2. Shroom-Monkey August 15, 2006 / 00:52

    Are you up to date on your tetanus shots?? Something to think about…

    Like

  3. penelopeto August 16, 2006 / 01:50

    if you think that’s bad, try giving birth!

    kidding. hope you heel soon ;p

    Like

  4. Shroom-Monkey August 17, 2006 / 14:17

    ahhh, haaaa you outed me!!!

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

