If you want more readers, apparently you have to make your posts interesting and clear. Damn!


A wise person who may or may not be my wife once told me that if I want more readers to my blog, I need my posts to make sense.

What?!?  I have to put effort into what I write?  And I’m supposed to edit them, and check the spelling?  OY.  That is way too much work for my 5 regular readers (sorry guys!).  I blog in order to keep track of milestones for my kids and in my life and the fact that people read this who do not know me, is mind-blowing.  Assuming that I continue to blog into 2007, 2008 or beyond, I expect my readership to remain the same…

So when I look back at older posts, I realize that a lot of my posts are gibberish and while they may have made sense to me back then, they certainly do not make any sense whatsoever right now.

Maybe I should proof-read them.

I’m just not sure when.  You see I do most of my blogging after my wife and kids go to sleep, so these posts are getting cranked out between 11pm and 2am.  That is also the time I have set aside for my graduate school work, and while my wife is also completing her graduate school degree, we have to juggle the other responsibilities around the house.  For example, while my wife has managed to lower her work load down to only having 2 essays left to complete, I am now working through 5 essays, a case study, a quiz and a journal assignment to hand in before my final paper and final exam which are… this weekend.

I’d better get to work!

It’s easy to get this work done, on time and on topic when my recent marks look like this; Essay 95%. Essay 95%. Quiz 100%. Case Study 100%. Essay 90%.

I can now see that the end is near and I no longer question whether I can do this or not.  I’m running full steam ahead.  The only thing holding me back right now is my back.  Thank goodness for the anti-inflammatory medication my doctor gave me so I can focus on my work and have one less thing to worry about, in the short-term.

I’m going to have to take a break from my school work later tonight as I have agreed to present some legislation to 2 of the Canada Revenue Agency’s commercial collection teams.  I have not yet had a chance to review the material and it’s already 9:30pm.  I have done it before and can do it again.  It keeps the dry material interesting when I add real life encounters into the discussion.

One thought on “If you want more readers, apparently you have to make your posts interesting and clear. Damn!

  1. Angel July 20, 2006 / 03:32

    Um, I think you need to turn on your spam filter for the comments.

    wow gold opportunity!

    . I’ll teach you how that works because now that you’re going to edit your posts, you are going to need this too.

    Honestly, though, Your life sounds pretty hectic. It’s not going to get any easier as you add another child and look to leave the government for the private sector. It’s ambitious. Hope it works out.

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

