Shaking my head at a lack of productivity, respect. C’est la vie, eh?


Today I came to the following conclusion about my job. I hate it. Not the actual work, not the people, but the process.  It’s outdated and doesn’t make sense.

Why?

1) I’m really good at what I do.  Like REALLY good.  That makes it boring for me.  There are no challenges and the outdated computer system (and questionable management decisions) won’t allow for me to do more and challenge myself.

2) The people I work with on my team and the rest of the staff who come to me for technical interpretation and assistance feel the exact same frustration that I do. What makes matters worse is that there are some fairly senior folks who have been “heard” to have said that the collections staff are all “REALLY fucking dumb. Like lamp-post dumb.” Hard to work together to improve processes when the opinion coming down from above is not the most favourable.

3) I noticed that a colleague across the aisle from me was having a terrible time trying to reconcile and account and it had taken him most of the day. I could sense that there was no way on earth that he would be able to complete this task, but seeing as he was not on the same team as me, his team leader did not want him asking me for help. So no matter that it would have taken me less than 5 minutes to clear up, this poor guy needed the rest of the day and half of the next day before he balanced the file. (I taught him the correct way at lunch).

4) Another one of my colleagues told me he likes his boss, but it takes this guy 10 minutes to spit out what he’s trying to say. He’s not hesitating because he stutters, or is trying to be politically correct, nor is he stupid or unfit to be a manager, but he’s just not manager material. Not only if he incapable of making decisions, but he hates being in that position and is only there because he was strong-armed into that role for, well, government reasons…

I mean shouldn’t a manager be able to articulate his thoughts? Not here. They don’t want that kind of manager, but instead they want the kind who can walk, breathe on your own, not drool at the managers meetings and will blindly agree with direction from above! Then you can manage!!!!

5) Got a new workload this morning. Worked through it after 2 hours and was looking for more work to do, so I started working my old workload of accounts. Why? Because the environment is set up so that those workers who want to keep busy and need something to do more are shunned and treated poorly. If you want more, you just have to do it but don’t tell anyone. If you ask too much, that ensures a visit from the Union representative, or a comment from a colleague or peer about how much work you are doing more than anyone else…

6) A former manager once said to me that I should not aspire to move higher so soon because I would “detest the children who would report to me.  They gossip, plot revenge and try to destroy other’s lives like it’s a big joke.  Not a professional one in the bunch.  Anywhere in the organization.”

While I agree that something similar occurs in all organizations, I cannot help but worry for the future of an organization who thinks so little about the people who turn the widgets…

7) Oh, and of course, I hate the fact that it takes so long to be able to move up in my job, or to find a different area where it might be more challenging, especially once I look at my pay cheque every 2 weeks.

5 thoughts on “Shaking my head at a lack of productivity, respect. C’est la vie, eh?

  1. Shroom-Monkey June 21, 2006 / 20:36

    I thought you hated the word stupid?

    Like

  2. Angela June 21, 2006 / 21:54

    You’re unreal! What a shit hole you must work for. Hahaha!

    Like

  3. SpeakEasy June 22, 2006 / 02:39

    You are wise beyond your years, shroom. I do hate the word, “stupid”, but sometimes it’s nicer to say than stupid fucking idiots.

    Angela, you know it! Wait until I post about the psycho-bitch from hell that I sit beside.

    Like

  4. Riley June 27, 2006 / 20:40

    works always like that, either the job sucks or the people do, it seems impossible to get one where both dont.. it seems exceedingly easy to find one with both being bad.

    Your views on work, are reminding me strongly of my own.. 😦

    Like

  5. Little Bird's Dad June 19, 2013 / 19:08

    You are writing my experience at the IRS. I left that job in 2006, started my own firm, and haven’t looked back since. My boss loves when I am productive, but is flexible enough to let me take 6 months paid paternity leave.

    Hang in there, brother.

    LBD

    Like

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

