Life with child sure is different…


Animation of 2004 Indonesia tsunami
Animation of 2004 Indonesia tsunami (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So here we are just over a week into our new life with our baby, Linus and I think we’re finally getting into the swing of things, namely being zombie parents.

I think the one piece of advice that was lacking out of all the advice we gratefully received was the amount of sleep that we would be missing.  I heard from a lot of folks that it’s a lot of work – which I suspected and was ready for, but that we would be awake every 4 hours and still need to function – prepare meals, clean the house, clean ourselves, etc. – without fail, I could not have comprehended.  It’s not like I cant take a shift off either, or my wife and son are on their own and I didn’t arrange for a paternity leave from my job to watch them. I’m here to help out 100% of the time.

We are also starting to get back in touch with the rest of the world and I see now that some countries observed a moment of silence on January 1st by lighting candles and displaying white roses for the dead and homeless (which currently stands at around 150,000 dead and 5,000,000 homeless) after the December 26th tsunamis which we missed while in the hospital for our 20-hour delivery ordeal.

Scary.

Scary that so many people were killed or had their homes destroyed and scary that in this Internet age we missed it… completely.

I suspect in the very near future we will have the Internet in our hands and be able to access news, images and first-hand reports within seconds.

Yawn.

Excuse me… Diaper duty.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

