But I Didn’t Get The Email…

“I didn’t get that email.”
“I never saw that email.”
“It must have gone to my spam folder.”

How often have you used any of those comments when you need to get out of a jam? We all know it’s a bullshit response, but we use it, it gets accepted, then you had better make sure that you find that email (usually sitting unread in your inbox) and respond to it.

But what if you really didn’t get the email?

Does anyone really believe you any ways?

This morning in The Urban Daddy household, my wife and I decided to run through our days after school drop-off (we have a lot going on, clearly) and she mentioned to me that she would be missing the kids swimming tonight.

Errr, I take the kids swimming… Me, and me only.

“Why?” I sheepishly asked, figuring that I clearly forgot some details about tonight.

“It’s parent-viewing tonight…”

“Oh” I replied, with zero recollection of this conversation.

“Didn’t you get the email?” was her reply.

Well, I did not get the email. I am not on the swim school’s email list. I have never been on that list, although I have been included many times and I have asked to be included even more times.

I’m not part of that club…

So we laughed, and moved on…

How about next week, when your son writes his math test through Spirit of Math.

“Huh?” was my response.

“Geez… Don’t you read the emails from Spirit of Math!?!”

“Nope… Not on that list either” was my reply.

I know I now have to get myself included on these lists, but really, after 5-years of swimming and 3-years of math enrichment, have I missed anything?

But I’ll get on the list anyways.

2 responses

  1. Gees, does that happen with voice mail also…….

  2. Yes. Sometimes it does.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,813 other followers

