Things I Have Learned as a Parent, a Father, a Husband and a Human Being

I have been doing a lot of soul-searching.  Doesn’t everyone?  And in doing so I have realized there are a lot of things that I have learned this past year, and I never thought about putting together a post until I had a “discussion” with my 9-year-old son after I told him that “I learn something new each and every day.”  He didn’t believe me because at 9-years-old you know as much as a 43-year-old does, right?

But off the top of my head, here are some of the things that I have learned in the not too distant past;

First off, I learned that I am truly blessed.  My family, friends, network… It could be better but it could be much worse.

Do They Know It’s Christmas by Band Aid makes me cry.  It’s the whole story from the song to the Live-Aid concerts…  It chokes me up to think about how the world came together for this cause.

Learning is NEVER a waste of time.

Plenty of people my age are just as confused about life as I am.

I do NOT like the Olympics – what they have become with the politics, greed, and lack of recognition that countries who participate should do so with the understanding that they have to be nice to their citizens outside of the games and that their participants have to be nice to other countries while in the games.  I do, however, love when our Olympians win and that chokes me up.  I’m all Pro Canada when the games are on!

Time isn’t slowing down for any of us.

I don’t like Miley Cyrus, or Justin Beiber at all.

It takes the little effort to be a good friend.

It takes even less effort to be a good person – say “hello” or “good morning” to people, or to smile and not be another reason people have to complain.

‘Health’ goes way beyond working out and eating well.

The real world isn’t that scary.

I’ve had way too many “I should have listened to my wife” moments.

Confidence can be faked – for good sometimes – as we push our children into areas we stayed out of so their futures might be different from ours.

No matter how badly someone needs to change, you cannot force them into it.  They have to be ready.

There is nothing to watch on TV and it gets worse year-by-year.

Be true to yourself.  Not matter what you are giving up to do so.  You’ll be able to sleep at night.

There still are some people in the world who were raised the right way.

Planning, preparing, and cooking dinner for a family AND making sure it tastes good AND is healthy AND all cooks at the same time AND is ready in time for dinner is REALLY hard!  My wife is AWESOME!  I don’t know how she does it, day after day, and night after night.

When something happens in my house – anything broken, items left-out, things damaged – it’s amazing to me that “not me” has done all this damage, and “I don’t know” seems to be there too.  This is right out of the Family Circus comics…

My family has horrible memories when it comes to picking up their laundry from the floor, putting their dishes in the sink, sweeping the floor or helping with lunches, but if they were promised iPad time… that they never forget.

So there!  I did learn new things today, and every day!

2 responses

  1. I learned from Mr. Rogers that whenever bad things happen, look for the good people for they are everywhere.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,827 other followers

