When you don’t allow for comments on your blog, you get this instead.

I’m a very open-minded guy. I was not always this way, but as I have gotten older and wiser, I have certainly adopted the philosophy that people can, and will, do and say whatever they want, whenever they want and that is totally fine by me, so long as it doesn’t trample on my human rights.

I mean who are we to define items like marriage, or benefits, or set limits on what a person can and cannot do with their bodies… I find a lot of the laws and customs in practice today found their roots in a time when men were seen as better than woman, and heck, white men greater than everyone. We can now see clearly how wrong that has come to be, and if we step even further back, we can see that we are all just human beings trying to make the best lives for ourselves and our children on this planet we call earth.

So when I came across a blog / rant / all out melt-down around breastfeeding mothers and whether or not they should be allowed to breastfeed in restaurants – for attention – I decided to read along in hopes of finding another point of view or see that this post was just a joke.

However as I read it I became confused with the source of the ranting.  At first I thought the author was upset because woman breastfeed in restaurants and in some old-school way the author felt that woman’s breasts are sexualized and thus breastfeeding should be done discreetly.  Heck, from the tone of the post one would think that at this particular establishment there are boobs flying left and right, out there for everyone to see… A mother feeding her child.

Then as I read on and thought about the words, I thought that the author was upset because the restaurant in question asked a breastfeeding mother to feed her child in a discreet area of the restaurant away from, I dunno, people like this author who thing breastfeeding is gross, or ugly?!?  The mother declined, went to the press and from what I could gather all hell broke loose.  Either the restaurant was criticized for insensitivity, or there was a breastfeeding sit-in, who knows, but this author clearly felt that that mother needed to go somewhere else to breastfeed.

As a manager, this author would be the same type of employee who would have approached my wife – who breastfed our three children – and asked her to fed the baby in the bathroom.  UGH.  To that suggestion my wife would comment, very calmly; “Would you eat your lunch in the bathroom?”

Point taken.

But aside from the disgust with breastfeeding I was taking from the article, I felt an overwhelming hatred of mothers.  Mothers who want to feed their babies in public.  Mothers who ask for discounts because they are mothers.  Damn you mothers for carrying children and bringing life.

The author also hates nutrition because her solution is for breastfeeding mothers to bring a bottle to feed their kids, obviously oblivious to the fact that a baby sucking on a bottle even once can ruin the latch on the nipple causing pain and agony for the mother – or a premature end to breastfeeding at worst.

If a mother is unable to pump enough breast milk to fill a bottle, I guess the mother can just buy some over-the-counter product and feed the baby that, right?  Who cares what garbage is in that bottle, so long as there are no breasts exposed, right?

Or maybe the author’s “final solution” is best.  Since she offended pretty much all moms everywhere by tagging her post “people I hate” and referring to either women or feminists in her university / college as “feminazis”, she finally concluded that moms with young children do not belong in nice restaurants when there are quality family restaurants like “McDonalds or Burger King” around.

Wow.

I would have commented to the author about her incorrect facts relating to the bottle comment and restaurant solutions in an understanding manner.  How else could she feel this way unless she just did not know.  It’s easy for her to send moms to McD’s, as her post screams about her lack of understanding of what it takes to be a mother and responsible for children while still trying to have a life of their own.  Heck, she referred to children who are breastfeeding – probably under 4-years-old – as  “bratty hellspawn” to think that mothers are only feeding their kids for “attention” pretty much rounds out the absurdity.

I had always thought that mothers fed their children out of necessity so the won’t die.  Funny how that works…

The “breast” solution for this author is to only go to restaurants where families do not “hang out”.

But with nowhere on her blog to add a comment and me left feeling that I have to educate this woman so she won’t go through life thinking that all breastfeeding mothers are Satan’s spawn, I came to post it here.

The link to the original post is below.

http://xoellexo.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/breastfeeding-motherslactivist-nightmares/

10 thoughts on “When you don’t allow for comments on your blog, you get this instead.

  1. I have never understood the problem people have with breast feeding in public. I think it’s amazing and reminds us of our natural roots. People don’t like to be reminded that we are mamals, it doesn’t go with suit or the dress perhaps. One very rarely sees the breast itself so it shouldn’t offend those are upset by seeing a bare breast – again I can’t see why. Maybe they see breasts as a sexual thing which is completely wrong.

    If it offends, then don’t look is my motto.

  2. W..t..f…I don’t even wanna read it, I’m so did appointed in the ignorance. She needs a sit in on her blog. Sad. I will kindly continue nursing my girl and will continue staring down every Pervie onlooker. My motto if you’re offended then you’re lookin too damn hard!

  3. Wow. Thank you for bringing this up and Im sure she LOVES the ping back ;) We cant always help that people are uneducated in certains matters thus making them arrogant and rude- but then we can educate the rest that may follow. Good post- nicely executed.

  4. Thank you Anastasia,

    I agree with your view that its better to educate the masses then give up on all of them and I worried as I wrote it that I was going to take a negative stance about her post and her which would mean that I was stooping to her level.

    Just trying to present another side to a very important topic.

    Thanks for the comment.

  5. Hello Bill,

    Thank you for your comment. You hit the nail on the head that not only is it natural but if it is offensive then look away. Too often people expect to change the world because they have closed mind and for what?

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

