The Urban Daddy’s 1000th Blog Post!!

Looks like we have reason to celebrate today as this is our 1000th blog post on The Urban Daddy.

1000th blog post

Coming up on 10 years and with over 150,000 views on this URL (I had a whole bunch more on my previous URL www.urbandaddy.blogger.ca) I want to say thank you to the many people who have made this blog possible through their actions, comments, or for just being who they are.

The main topics I have come to love to talk about here – aside from being a Dad – include politics, coffee, sports, the live-in caregiver program (nannies), government funding of IVF, government in general, stupidity and common sense and a lot of tax.

When I first started writing, 10 views a week was fantastic, but as the hits climbed, so did the pressure to produce content that made sense, that was edited and had no spelling mistakes.   I am far from a journalism major, so one of the reasons for blogging was practice writing sentences which made sense and to work on my spelling.   I knew early on that I could count on my sister to send me an email when there were spelling mistakes or grammatical errors, which she did A LOT, before I realized WordPress hasa kick-ass spell checker.  Thanks Sis.

So as The Urban Daddy began receiving nominations for year-end blogging awards, I came to realize how important Daddy Blogs are in cyber space however I chose to stay out of the limelight, using this blog instead as a forum to capture my parenting successes and failures as well as tracking my children’s progress and achievements.  While I like the concept of fame and fortune, deep down inside, I’ve always been reserved and would much rather others get the spotlight.  I can stand in the back and smile.

I’m the guy who values an assist as much as a goal in play and in work.

Professionally, after 17-years of working for others, I started my own business this past April – something I realized I should have been doing years ago.  I saw, experienced, and was frustrated by, so much in the workforce as I’m sure you have too, and keeping your mouth shut is always easier in theory than in practice.  If I see something wrong, I have to speak up, and I was certain that one day it was going to cost me my job.  It wasn’t until I realized my love and knowledge of taxation, of all things, that it was my true calling and I could help people and earn a living.  Now I get to do that AND spend valuable time with my wife and children.  Something I have come to see as being a very short window, sadly.

Back to the blogging… In 1000 posts I have said some nice things – a lot of nice things – but I have also said some dumb things and for those I have always apologized.  I’m a big fan of karma and if I piss somebody of, then I’m no better than they are.

To that point, I’ve been called a LOT of things, for a lot of interesting people.  I’ve been called stupid for my right-wing political views (always from anonymous posters, mind you) and I’ve been threatened.  I have had my blog hacked, email hacked and Twitter accounts taken over by aliens.  I have received hate mail, had my Facebook page cloned and hate messages sent from it to all my friends… More than once.  It reminded me of working in the government when people would send me hate mail which was written in gold glitter or included with the envelope would be a mysterious white powder.

It’s the price one pays for being open and for having an opinion and making it public.

Yes, I have pulled back a lot of the personal information on myself and my family as a result, and I do not post pictures of them, but I find it reduces my credibility in the parent blogging community to hide behind cute names.  I’m okay with that.

I’ve been on the radio, on TV, asked to start my own cable show and in the newspaper now more times that I could imagine.  My son once told his teacher that at parent-teacher interviews she should call me “The Urban Daddy”.  Others do.

I have also had the pleasure of being confused for urbandaddy.com, a much larger website out of New York which promotes the trendiest events and social items for the have or pretend to have community.  As a result I get my fair share of product pitches from very large corporations – and I’ve been offered to be flown around the world to attend events.  Obviously, I reject them all, and direct them to the right place.  I have no interest in being away from the family for something like that.  If I promote or recommend a product or service it is because I use it, and would use it.

I don’t know on a daily basis what I am going to post or even if I am going to post.

It is because of that, why I appreciate each view, comment, like and re-tweet through this blog, and my Facebook, Twitter, Google + and email more than any of you could possibly imagine.  I follow each and every blogger than stops by and let’s me know they have stopped by.

I hope to again one day find the perfect balance between the person who writes this blog and person who saves peoples lives by solving their tax problems and setting them back on track, but until that time comes, I’m going to have to continue to post when I can, about whatever pops into my mind.

And thank you once again for coming by and for supporting this blog.  If I ever get to 2000 posts, I’ll have a giant party and you’re invited.  :)

3 comments

  1. Congrats to “The Urban Daddy”!!! It’s always a pleasure to read your views on life in the big city…

  2. Well congratulations Urban Daddy! That’s a big accomplishment! Also I laughed that your son told his teacher she can call you urban daddy. We have enjoyed having you write sometimes about important issues that are crucial to our advocacy group Conceivable Dreams.

    Paula

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

