How my 1 hour reprieve from Parenting was Ruined at Starbucks.

There really is nothing worse than having only a few precious minutes of kid-free time – today’s was to have been spent at Starbucks Canada while the kids were in a program – and it’s ruined by someone taking their time doing something very simple… Like ordering a cup of coffee.

Crazy, eh?

I dropped the kids off at their program, then headed over for a cup of coffee and for a sanity break at the closest Starbucks.  I had 55 minutes now, and I just wanted my drink and to sit down and get to work.  I had my laptop and there was only one guy in line in front of me.  He was already ordering when I settled in behind him in line.  I figured I was a minute or two away from my coffee.  Little did I know it would be almost 15 minutes later before I had my drink…

It was so bad that once he realized he was entitled to a free drink, paused to figure out what to order and after what seemed like 2 minutes, he ordered a venti (huge) triple-quad, half-caf…. something, something, something… That drink order was as long as the wait, and of course, as barista repeated the drink back to him, she made a mistake and he went through his entire order all over again to make sure she understood.

Yawn.

Then once he was finished – 8 minutes later – and he had to pay for his drink, he decided he needed a snack, so he walked over to the window and thought about that, before ordering the food.

Now came time to pay.

Of course, he had not taken out his card to pay!!! He searched high and low for his wallet, but could not find it.  Then he decided he was going to pay through his phone, which he had to retrieve, turn on, open the app, load what ever the %^$^ he needed to load only to find out there was not enough money on his phone to pay.

So back to his backpack he went and this time he produced a debit card.

He paid (no tip) and then turned and smiled to me.

I waited 12 minutes for him to order, and pay, and he smiled and me.

So I smiled back.

Said good morning.

Walked up to the cash, ordered a grande Americano with a pump of mocha and a pump of peppermint and I knew that in a mere minute I would be enjoying a delicious drink.

It’s bad karma to be an asshole, plus it’s a lot of work.

My hour of freedom was now down to 35 minutes.

Sigh.

Have a great day everyone!!!

The Urban Daddy

One comment

  1. Hello Urban Daddy, and CONGRATULATIONS on your 1000th Blog post. You are an inspiration to all of us who started with no readers and who have no desire to promote. Longevity does yield results as you have often stated. :)

    I’m tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog. Keep up the great work!

    Kitty.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

