Why did the chicken cross the road?

At dinner last night, my 3-year-old daughter Boo wanted to tell us all a joke.

“Why did the chicken cross the road?” she asked.

“Why?” we enquired.

Already laughing, she said; “It didn’t.  It started to cross the road but got runned over and died.”

Silence

“What?” I said.

“Who told you that joke?” he mother asked.

“No one”, she said proudly.  “I made it up myself.”

If this was our first child, I’m certain I would have reacted differently, but instead we said that was inappropriate and we changed the topic of conversation, but I could not for the life of me get images of the game Frogger out of my head.

What would you have said?

Why did the chicken cross the road?

Why did the chicken cross the road? (Photo credit: bortescristian)

One comment

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

