Hey! Could I get a little bit of help, please! The 2013 Bloggies are about to close!

logotype of The Weblog Awards (Bloggies)
logotype of The Weblog Awards (Bloggies) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not exactly sure how this happened, or how I missed this but a couple of weeks ago I noticed a massive spike in readership here at The Urban Daddy and after a very quick check of my statistics I came to realize that I had a whole bunch of new readers coming to see me from The 2013 Weblog Awards aka The Bloggies.

The specific reason for the increased traffic was because many folks were dropping by to learn more about this blog which was nominated, and made it to the finals of the 2013 Weblog Awards in the following two categories.

Best Parenting or Family Weblog
Best Canadian Weblog

I’ve always been a big fan of the Bloggies because of their global coverage and I looked through many of the other blogs who made the finals in their respective categories and there are some pretty awesome blogs out there being written by some pretty amazing writers. Being nominated is really great, as I’ve said before after being nominated for the Canadian Weblog Awards, it’s great just to be nominated.  That someone other than myself has taken the time to put forward my URL is quite humbling. (thanks Mom!).

But now I need your help, and I need it quickly! I don’t normally beg or ask for favours but I’m going to do both today. I need your vote! Please.

Voting for the 2013 Bloggies closes on March 17th, and all you need to do in order to vote for me (or someone else if you like them better) is follow the link to their website, here, then vote for at least 3 blogs, enter the security code and your email and you are almost done. You will receive an email from The Bloggies to ensure you are legitimate, and once you confirm that, your vote goes through. Nice and easy!

But remember to only vote once, please. If you vote more than once, the awards use your most recent vote.  We don’t want to waste your time now, do we?

Then, after that has been completed, you can sit back until the 24th of March, at which time you can Watch the Ceremony from 8:00-10:30 PM EST (UTC-5) on the Bloggies’ Twitter feed and Facebook page. One winner will be announced approximately every five minutes, culminating with the Weblog of the Year at 10:30, at which point the winners will be posted to the site. Follow the feed to keep up to date on the Bloggies!

If you are able to take the time to vote, I appreciate it. Heck, I’m happy that you even come by, subscribe and “like” my blog.

7 thoughts on “Hey! Could I get a little bit of help, please! The 2013 Bloggies are about to close!

  1. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great posts. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!. Good luck in the 2 categories you are nominated in. You have some serious competition!

    Jakub

  2. Hiya, I am really glad I came to check out your blog through the Bloggies. I had never heard of The Urban Daddy before and when I saw that you made the finals of the Best Canadian Blog and Best Parenting blog, I had to come check. you’ve been doing this for a long time, and your posts all have significant contest (not some of your earlier ones, they’re actually quite silly). I find that today bloggers publish gossip and other people’s words and you are actually different… Very different. You run a good site with interesting content, that’s what I keep coming back for. Thanks for keeping this web-site, I will be visiting it often. Do you do newsletters? I could not find any, and it might be a good idea to build readership, that in unless you don’t want that. :)

    NE

  3. I have learn several excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. Congratulations on making finals of bloggies. I hope you win all.

    I did not make finals but happy i was on list at all.

    Bye

  4. Hey Urban Daddy! I was surfing around stumbleupon.com when I noticed your website bookmarked as:
    “Hey! Could I get a little bit of help, please! The 2013 Bloggies are about to close! | The Urban Daddy.”

    I assumed that you bookmarked it yourself because you wanted to boost your social media klout but then I saw it was there from other people, and there were links to Twitter, and Facebook, Pinterest, and Google +.

    My question: How do you manage all this stuff while working full-time and looking after children? You must be exhausted.

    But really. I emailed you and want to know if you would be interested in speaking at the college I teach, about how to juggle life and social media, plus maybe some time spent on safe social media and if it’s not asking too much, something on setting up a small business and the tax implications.

    All very interesting and hopefully when the Bloggies are announced in 1/2 hour, you can speak as the Canadian blogger of the year and the best parenting blog.

    I wish you best of luck!

    Mariam.

    Thank you very much.

  5. I just checked in to see if you had won, but you did not. I’m sorry. I voted for you too. I check in often but see you are not posting so much lately. Why? Because you lost?

  6. Hi Elvira,

    Thank you for the comment. I’m not posting as much because I’ve been completely overwhelmed with a new business which launched last month. It’s tax season, so that makes it even busier for me.

    On the bright side, I have about 150 posts in my draft folder almost ready to be published!

    Besides, you should subscribe by email, or catch me on Facebook to catch my latest posts as them arrive.

    UD

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

