Repost from June 13th, 2006. Someone took credit for my work… Now what?

It’s not like I’m new in the workforce or new to the organization… I work for the Canadian Revenue Agency and I’ve been here for 8 years. I am also 2 years into my MBA so I understand how organizations work, especially how to get the most out of people.

This situation happened to me today and it blew me away. I let it go, because I’m a team player and to be honest I don’t need to toot my own horn… My work does that on a daily basis. But today, after spending quite a bit of time discussing a complex matter with a team leader I when I came across them later in the day they were explaining to a group of people how to solve the problem but instead of saying where the solution came from, I heard this TL use “I” a lot… Too much actually.

This TL took pretty much everything I said and used it to take credit for solving this problem. He even went as far as to indicate that the problem was fixed by him too and that he reviewed it, researched it them solved it…

Hmmmm.

What I found most odd, was that he didn’t know I was there and when I corrected him on a misrepresentation of the facts – you would think he would stop now, but no, he just kept on embellishing the story to make it sound even more impressive.

I wanted to speak up, but I had to leave.

If you have to depend on someone else’s thoughts, words or writings to make your own life interesting that’s fine, just give credit where credit is due or you sound like a giant asshole.

What would you have done? Remember this is a unionized environment…

8 comments

  1. in my experience there isn’t a whole lot you can do without making yourself look bad. It always amazes me how more people cannot see through these self-serving imbeciles

  2. probably hard to do, but I’d work hard on letting it go and turning it over to my Higher Power as part of the process of learning that I can’t control people, places, or things. also there is a certain hidden honor in having someone else thrive because of me or something I taught them, even if I don’t get recognized for it. Ultimately, there’s always karma. Good gets repaid with good, and the opposite gets repaid with the opposite.

  3. Hi Ari,

    Thanks for the comment. You said it very well and it’s very comforting to think that karma could be in play here. At the end of the day, you are right, there is nothing that can – or should – be done about it and I should be happy that someone needed to use my work to get themselves over.

    Taking a deep breath and letting go.

    Cheers,

    Warren

  4. That always crosses my mind too… If I speak up it looks like sour grapes, and if I keep my mouth shut others take credit for my hard work, but as Ari said in the previous comment, it’s all about karma and one day someone will do the same to him and he will understand how it feels.

  5. General consensus here seems to be to ‘let it go’. Probably the best response in such situations. Not sure how karma will make a difference; Higher Power … sort of vague. There is more hope than that: a divine judgement day is coming where the Creator-God will bring such misrepresentations to light (ie. the truth will come out). The culprit will have no defence, because the evidence will be exhaustive and indisputable. Interestingly, many people today discount God’s existence, let alone His creative power or ability to ultimately judge the world. Incidentally, that too will be solved on that day and many who consider themselves too smart to believe in ‘a god’ will have ‘egg on their faces’. What proof is there for God’s existence? Jesus Christ.

  6. I get where you are going with this and I totally see your point of view.

    To be blunt… I hope he gets asked a question about the work he gave as mine, the couldn’t answer a single question and looked like a fool. That’s the best outcome possible.

  7. That should teach him a lesson (I’m in favour); whether it would is, of course, another question.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

