Anyone “Shocked” to find out that Nutella is not Healthy? Didn’t think so…

Deutsch: Ein Glas Nutella-Nussnougatcreme

Nutella

Ferrero, the maker of Nutella, which happens to be the only chocolate spread that has its own world celebration day – World Nutella Day is celebrated February 5th – has lost a $3.5 million class action lawsuit filed by a California mother who was “shocked” to discover that a chocolate spread was not healthy.

Did you know that all the Nutella sold in the US comes from a plant in Brantford, Ontario with Californians being the per capita biggest consumers of Nutella in the US.

In her lawsuit filed last year a San Diego mother said she was “shocked” to learn that the hazelnut chocolate spread she was feeding her husband and 4-year-old daughter was full of sugar and fat.  She said she felt “betrayed” when she learned the healthiest part of a Nutella breakfast was the bread and milk that children ate with it – probably white bread and whole milk too, eh?

She won, and in the US, Ferrero will give every consumer who also feel betrayed $4.00 for their jar of Nutella provided they also declare that the cannot read the nutritional label on the back of the jar.  LOL.  Then they take there $4.00 and buy another jar I would think…

What did it in for Nutella?  The claim that Nutella could be part of a “healthy breakfast.”  Apparently there are some ads in the US which claim Nutella is healthy, or something like that.  Full of energy (which would lead me to assume full of calories), I’m not 100% sure.

Sure, anyone capable of reading a label – as my kids do in the grocery stores at the ages of 7 and 5 (and they understand what they are reading) would see that Nutella has a lot of sugar and a lot of fat in it.

As part of the settlement, the front label of Nutella jars will now include info on the fat, sugar and calories of the product.

Oddly enough, Nutella Canada, which is a sponsor of the Canadian Soccer Association, advocates eating a balanced breakfast on its website www.nutella.ca but without directly saying the spread should be part of it.

From their FAQ section:

Q: What is NUTELLA®?

A: NUTELLA® (pronounced “new-tell-uh”) is a deliciously unique spread made from hazelnuts, cocoa, and skim milk. NUTELLA® is a great choice for kids as part of a nutritious breakfast. It contains no preservatives, no artificial colours and is a source of Vitamin E.

All true and very clear…

Those litigious Americans.  I’m not sure if this was a good thing or a frivolous lawsuit.  Yes it’s good to bring attention for those who may not be able to read labels or have common sense, but then again, Nutella is yummy and most people I spoke to who eat are were perfectly aware that one tablespoon full was plenty and that 2 tablespoons contained the same amount of sugar, etc, as a chocolate bar.

A two-tablespoon serving of Nutella contains 200 calories, 11 grams of fat, 3.5 of which are saturated and 21 grams of sugar. To put that into perspective, a typical chocolate and nut candy bar has 250 to 300 calories and 12 to 16 grams of fat.

Might I recommend the Marshmallow spread instead to that mom instead?

(Please don’t sue me).

So how does Nutella compare to Peanut Butter – you might be surprised…

Nutella per Tablespoon (19g):

100 Calories

6g Fat (2g saturated Fat)

1mg Cholesterol

5mg sodium

11g Carbs (1g fibre/10g sugar)

1g protein

0% Vitamin A

0% Vitamin C

2% Calcium

2% Iron

10% Vitamin E

Kraft Smooth Peanut Butter per Tablespoon (15g)

90 Calories

8g Fat (2g Saturated Fat)

0mg Cholesterol

70mg sodium

4g Carbs (1g fibre/3g sugar)

3g protein

0% Vitamin A

0% Vitamin C

0% Calcium

2% Iron

0% Vitamin E

Eating Nutella over Kraft peanut butter (not my peanut butter of choice – I prefer a more natural kinds, like President Choice blue menu Just Peanuts) however with Nutella you eat 10 more calories, save 2g of fat, eat 65mg less sodium, eat 7g more carbs – admittedly more sugar –  consume 2% more calcium and take in 10% more vitamin E.

Comments on this item made me laugh because Nutella in the US does have nutritional information on it, however the commercials were misleading stating it was healthy, or part of a healthy breakfast.  Whatever it said, it’s chocolate and nuts and that should have set off bells for any parent.

For this post I turned to my trusty editor, 7-year-old Linus, and he read the post then asked me; “If Nutella is made with hazelnuts and chocolate, there is no way it is healthy, Daddy, but can we please buy some!”  :)

Some comments I read while researching included;

“What?  Chocolate for breakfast is unhealthy?”

“I’m suing McDonald’s because I had a Happy Meal and it didn’t make me happy”.

“I’m suing Axe because I used their deodorant spray and was not immediately surrounded by hot women”.

What are your thoughts, parents?  Stupid lawsuit or poor advertising choices for this product?

Mmmmmm… Nutella crepes… For me, not the kids!

Deutsch: Ein Crêpe mit Nutella.

Deutsch: Ein Crêpe mit Nutella. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

13 responses

  1. Definitely not a shock that it’s not healthy. I considered buying it once, read the label, and immediately put it back on the shelf. Common sense!

  2. stupid lawsuit and embarrassing that it was decided in her favor.

  3. Bit of both. Yes it’s a frivolous lawsuit and the woman was stupid for being shocked,but technically they lied outright about the healthiness of their product. Had they advertised it as a yummy and delicious breakfast spread and not made specific claims that it was healthy, there would have been no problem.

  4. Don’t tell her there’s no fruit in Froot Loops!

  5. She may have won the lawsuit but in the process she showed the world that she’s a lot dumber than a 7 year old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Interesting. I actually really disagree with them advertising it as healthy. But, I also think it’s up to us as consumers to check that stuff out. The other day at Costco I was listening to a woman justifying her choice of a giant box of Frosted Flakes to her friend by saying “well, they did reduce the sugar, and I highly doubt costco would put this in the cereal aisle if it wasn’t healthy!”
    I was cracking up. I actually buy frosted flakes on occasion (we call it a treat – not breakfast) but I’ve never assumed that if something is in the cereal aisle it’s healthy.
    As for Nutella. I never buy it. It’s one of those foods I’d eat by the spoonful from the jar, and I’m sure my kids would want to also.

  7. I agree! I think the suit was frivolous but what if they advertised it as being healthy and what if there are people in the world not as intellictually gifted as we are and who actually believe that it was healthy. I guess if they were that dumb / gullible, then how could they hire a lawyer and sue?!? That’s fishy to me, and speaking of fishy… I understand fake crab meat is made from Pollack, and I an devastated to find that out so I’m suing each and every Pollack in the sea (not to be confused by suing Pollocks – since that’s my ancestory). Damn false advertising!!!

  8. I’m sure she would pick that one up, Mindy, since “Fruit” and “Froot” are spelled differently… right?!?

    Maybe not! Can you represent me… I’ll take on that fight. :)

  9. Rachel – 15 minutes of fame! Remember that. Everyone wants it!

  10. Laural – *shocked*. It must be healthy because CostCo put it in the cereal aisle?!? So there are stupid people everywhere! I guess since they dropped “Sugar” from the name – not sure if you are old enough to remember Sugar Frosted Flakes as being their name but they are disgusting and yes, our kids have had them as a snack too… when on vacation.

    Problem is, I can taste the chemicals! UGH.

  11. Hi Mandy – Thanks for dropping by.

    I think you have something wonderful called “Common sense”. The more I read and look around, the more I see there are a lot of people lacking it.

    Keep it to yourself, do not share it, do not try to help others. We’re part of an exclusive club. Let’s keep it that way or who will we giggle at and blog about on a daily basis.

  12. I hear you Dan… It’s hazelnut chocolate spread in a jar…

  13. I think I have told you before my mother was super strict on our diet as kids. No sugar, no junk etc. I remember begging her to buy Nutella because my friends brought Nutella sandwiches to school for lunch. She used to say no way was she buying chocolate spread, just the thought of it disgusted her. I felt so deprived! Now as an adult looking back and looking at the stuff, I can’t imagine why I ever wanted to eat it. I am always shocked to hear friends say that they feed it to their kids and they even enjoy it themselves. Yuck!

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,827 other followers

