Calling President’s Choice… What Happened to the PC Organic Oatmeal??? Say it aint so!

The President's Choice logo

The President's Choice logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I couldn’t take the uncertainty anymore.  Not knowing was killing me, so I reached out to the folks at Presidents Choice through this URL; http://www.presidentschoice.ca/LCLOnline/contactUs.jsp and I left them this message;

Hi there.

I love the PC organic oatmeal.  We buy 2 bags every week and every morning I made it for myself and my 3 kids, however, I cannot find it anywhere the past couple weeks and I’m very concerned.  Is everything okay?  I had to buy the Quaker oatmeal and my kids hate it.  This morning I made the blue menu steel-cut oats but it takes too long to make
(20 minutes).

Please reassure me and tell me it’s a supply problem and not that the product is being discontinued.  I’ve hit about 7 stores – Loblaws, No Frills, but no luck.

Help!

Oatless in Toronto.

Here was what got fired back;

We have received your email and will be responding to you as quickly as possible.
Your patience during periods of high volume is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

President’s Choice Customer Relations

I know when I get home there will be a clear explanation and hopefully a note that there was a supply issue, or packaging or something simple which will see me eating that again real soon.

Sadly, the response I received was even more disappointing than seeing the empty shelves.  Here was what was waiting for me in my inbox;

.”Dear Mr. Urban Daddy,

Thank you for taking the time to email us concerning our PC Organics Instant Oatmeal.

Unfortunately, this product has been discontinued; however we do keep track of all customer requests and review the possibilities of reintroducing these items based on our customer feedback.  We will be sure to pass on your inquiry to our product developers for future consideration.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and hope you will contact us in the future with any other questions or comments.”

GASP.

I’m so sad.  Forget subways… I need my oatmeal back!  I need to get Galen Weston on the phone ASAP!

2 responses

  1. Really funny you should mention that, Warren. Last week I went to buy my PC Organic Oatmeal, the blue box of ten packets, and unfortunately it was on sale all week. My definition of a Loblaws sale is they put yellow sales tags under empty shelves that used to hold the groceries you need. When the sale’s over the replace the sales tags with said groceries. Simply put, I hate it when anything I usually buy at Loblaws goes on sale, since I then have to go to another grocer to get it.

    Here’s a list of just a couple of my favourite things I used to buy that Loblaws saw fit to discontinue:
    – Organic whole grain oatmeal in the blue tube-like package
    – Blue label cranberry and almost granola bars
    – Horseradish mayo

    There are more but I can’t remember what they are now.

    Clearly Loblaws doesn’t know how to run a grocery store/chain.

  2. Maybe we need to hook up and get some pictures taken of adults and kids alike enjoying these discontinued products and then they will realize how they have deprived us all by shelving them.

    Kind of like how the Liberals are going to merge with the NDP and make them discontinued too.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,827 other followers

