A little research never hurt anyone, right? Talkin about Chickenfoot.

If there is one thing I hate, it’s spouting off facts and figures from the top of head not knowing if it’s right or wrong.  In the good old days we had encyclopedia’s, but nowadays we have this thing called the Internet so we do not know if the facts we read are true or not.  Any loser can start a blog and write stuff (case in point, you’re reading mine), so what I try to do is research my facts to make sure I add some credibility to my statements, or bitch sessions.

Case in point number #1 today is the band Chickenfoot.  I heard them on Octane, Channel 37 on XM satellite radio, so I presumed they were a new band headed up my former Van Halen lead singer Sammy Hager.  So I bought some of their music from iTunes and added it to my iPod.  Soap on a Rope and Oh Yeah are the best of the very limited songs I have heard.

Then last week I heard them on XM radio 38 which is the Boneyard.  As far as I knew that channel was for older music so immediately I became puzzled wondering if the band was new, or maybe older and I started to think that Van Halen could have picked up Hagar from this band.

Wanting to post something, I hit up my friend Google for some more information.  Turns out the band is a recent thing.  And while reading over multiple sources, I now realize why I like their stuff;

Chickenfoot is the title for the “supergroup” featuring ex-Van Halen members Sammy Hagar and bassist Michael Anthony along with incredible guitarist Joe Satriani and drummer Chad Smith of the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

So here’s my dilemma… I don’t like Hagar very much.  His voice kind of grates on my nerves when I listen to him often and I didn’t like “I Can’t Drive 55″ at all.  There was some stuff of his when with Van Halen that I really liked, Poundcake and some of the ballads, but overall, I liked the music and not the voice.  I suspect the same will stand here.  I think with Hagar they are good, but with a different voice, they may be better… Or not.  What do I know, really. 

What do you think?  I linked to the YouTube version of Soap on a Rope.  Give it a listen and let me know what your thoughts are.

One response

  1. Watched the video. Loved the cameo appearance by the African Grey parrot!! Cute video, not a bad song, if you like that kind of thing (which I know you do)

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,827 other followers

