“Dads are Becoming some of the Most Popular Bloggers on the Block” reports CBSnews.com

At around 2:15am last night I was chatting on email with a colleague from our Australian head office when I decided it was time to head to bed, since the kids wake us up around 6am, some sleep was needed and quickly.

Before I went upstairs to bed, however, I decided to check my blog hits for the day and I found a pretty solid number of visits and views again today.  What a huge difference from even a couple of years ago where I would see 10 views a day which I always thought were my visits.

I looked a little further to see where the viewers were coming and what posts they were reading, when I noticed that there was a URL which appeared to come from CBSnews.com and it resulted in a grand total of four hits this day.  I automatically presumed it was spam, so I was unsure if I should open it or not, but foolish me decided I had to see either way, so I clicked on it, and was taken to an article on their site which was titled;

The link to the original article is here.

In that article, which I encourage all of you to read, celebrity blogger and former Wall Street corporate tax attorney Fred Mwangaguhunga mentioned my blog as a blog he enjoys reading!!!  I thought because of the fact that he works in the taxation industry, as do I, and that he has three children, as do I.  Whatever the reason is, I am absolutely flattered and the fact that I have been mentioned is exciting for me, and for this blog.

The piece of the article is below;

“It turns out with more fathers staying home or taking a more active role, mommy bloggers aren’t the only trend-setters these days. Daddy bloggers are also making their voices heard through At Home Dad, Daddy’s Home, and NYC Dads Group, among others. Fred refers to Urban Daddy, The Triplet Connection and the Manhattan Twins Club.”

Later in the day I noticed that CBSBoston picked up this story… Sort of, and in their article entitled “Stay-At-Home Dad Bloggers Emerge Online”, I read this; “With an array of sites like The Daddy Files, DaDa Rocks, The Busy Dad Blog and Urban Daddy, dads are becoming some of the most popular bloggers on the block.”

I looked at the link thinking it must have been for urbandaddy.com, but when I hovered the cursor over it, my link showed up there too.  I clicked on it just to be sure, and sure enough, it led right back to my site.

Here is the article in Boston;

http://boston.cbslocal.com/2011/07/11/stay-at-home-dad-blogs-emerge-online/#comments

Needless to say, all this attention is very cool and greatly appreciated.  I hope I can one day pay it forward too.  Fred, if you are reading this, I want to thank you very much.  You made my day!

7 comments

  1. I appreciate, cause I discovered exactly what I was taking a look for.
    You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man.

    Have a great day. Bye

  2. Its because you do an awesome piece of writing for all the internet viewers; yes, some of your posts are really long, but no body wants to read just about kids or parenting. Especially since you said you are close to 1000 posts. People drop by when they Google something and you are at the top of the listings. they will get benefit from your views and take on situations for sure.

    I’m not in Canada but I get the frustration with the Mayor and the government not paying for IVF treatments. We have that stupidity here.

    Is it true, that Toronto is the 5th largest city in north America and your subways are small and useless? I’m shocked! How can that be?

  3. Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any tips?

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

