Happy 45th Anniversary

Today is the 45th wedding anniversary of my in-laws, and tonight they had a party at the Holt’s Cafe in downtown Toronto.  A nice time was had by all. 

If you can count back 45 years from 2011, you will get to somewhere in the ’60′s. 1966 to be exact.

So in honour of their 45 years together, I bring you a Saturday version of my Thursday Thirteen, with 13 songs from the 60′s that I think best represents them or their family.  This list is based on the past 11 years that I have known them.

Here gos!

13.  “I’ve Been Loving you too Long (To Stop Now)” by Otis Redding – 45 years… This title says it all.  

12.  “Sweet Caroline” by Neil Diamond – He’s Jewish, we’re Jewish, it’s a really fun song, they can be really fun… It works.

11.  “Uptight (Everything’s Alright)” by Stevie Wonder – I’m just saying.  :)

10.  “It Was a Very Good Year” by Frank Sinatra

9.  “I Can See for Miles” by The Who – Reminds me of the view of the lake from the cottage window, or the view on the deck watching hte sun rise and set.

8.  “What a Wonderful World” by Louie Armstrong

7.  “These Boots are Made for Walking” by Nancy Sinatra – It’s what I remember best about my MIL.  She always had these boot on.  She also power walks.  So these boots WERE made for walking.  Just not together.

6.  “Everyday People” by Sly and the Family Stone – It’s all about fitting in to your community and helping others as anyone else would. 

5.  “1969″ by the Stooges… Another significant year for other reasons!

4.  “Don’t Worry Baby” by the Beach boys – I’ve heard both of them often say “Don’t worry” about many things.  It’s their style.

3.  “Wild Thing” by The Troggs – For the couple that pretty much did what they wanted whenever they wanted.

2.  “Mother In Law” by Ernie K. Doe – Because of all the Mother-in-law horror stories, I really lucked out!

1.  “Only the Strong Survive” by Jerry Butler.  Happy Anniversary!!!

Since my musical tastes are rather unique and it was my uncle who didn’t like my musical tastes in the 1980′s so he lent me two records, sent me home to listen, an asked me to tell him what I thought about this “60′s” music.  The bands… The Doors and Led Zepplin.  I have never looked back.  So below, please find a few of many potential candidates for the top 13 most applicable songs that make me think of my inlaws on their 45th anniversary, plus a whole lot of songs I really like!

Honorable mention to:

“Fist City” by Loretta Lynn

“Stand by your man” by Tammy Wynette

“A Whiter Shade of Pale” by Procol Harum (was my Dad’s favourite song).  :)

“Unchained Melody ” by the Rightous Brothers – Hello… From Dirty Dancing.  What a classic

“Voodoo Child” by Jimi Hendrix.  Nuff said.  One of the best riffs in music, if only Hulk Hogan didn’t steal and tarnish it.

“You Can’t Always Get What You Want” by The Rolling Stones and VERY true.  You get what you need.

“Manic Depression” by Jimi Hendrix – a true classic!!!

“Whole Lotta Love” by Led Zepplin

“Light My Fire” by the Doors

“Sympathy for the Devil” by The Rolling Stones

“The Kids are Alright” by The Who.

“Dazed and Confused” by Led Zepplin

Pretty much anything by the Beatles – Help!, You can’t buy me love, I am the Walrus, I saw her standing there, a hard days’ night, yesterday, strawberry fields…

and I could go on…

Which songs from the 60′s get you moving, or you would play for your kids?

4 comments

  1. Oh yeah. Look at that. Ghost, was one of the few movies I have actually seen and I loved it. Sure, because Demi Moore was in it, but it was a really good movie. I must have been thinking of Time of my Life which was in Dirty Dancing, right? That song was sung by Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes – Medley, of course, was one of the Rightous Brothers. :)

  2. I’ve sung and played the Kinks, the Stones, Motown – to both my sons while still in the belly. I’m singing with them all the time. My three year old has been singing Under My Thumb (one of my all time favorite cruising songs – Communication Breakdown is my speeding song!) for the last week. Currently on a Bowie kick – been playing Hunky Dory to the past few days – Kooks has been playing on repeat.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

