Raisins come from grapes…

Raisins come from grapes, people come from apes, I come from Canada…

That was a few lines from the Barenaked Ladies children’s song entitled, “Raisins”.  My kids, and wife, love that song.  It is rather clever and catchy.

But this post is not about the Barenaked Ladies – even though merely typing the tags, “barenaked” and “ladies” should result in a plethora of hits from perverts – but rather this post is about raisins.

You see this morning my son was completely bonkers.  So my wife and I tracked back to find out why.  We figured it out and we blame raisins.  Let me back-track and explain…

At over 8 months pregnant, my wife has mid-wife appointments every 2 weeks for now and I hate missing these appointments.  Forget being seen as a good husband for going – that’s so not why I go, but rather I live with her and I want to be on top of every feeling, issue or complaint she has.   With babies and pregnant woman, you can never be too prepared.  So I joined her for her late afternoon appointment with our youngest boy, while my almost 5-year-old (we call him Linus because he is attached to a blankie) was picked up form school by Gramma and off to dinner they went.

So the boys usually wind up in bed around 7-7:30pm but last night we all met in the driveway around 7:30 and there was Linus with a teeny tiny box of raisins.

Looks something like this;

raisins

 These are Sun-Maid raisins, not Sun-Kist, and if you google “sun-kist raisins” you are taken to Sun-Kist’s FAQ page in which they explain that they do not make raisins, and if you’re looking for them, you’ll need to go to the Sun-Maid website.

He also had 4 others in a ziploc bag.  

Thinking nothing about it, we let the boys finish their raisins, then we got them ready for bed…

But Linus didn’t sleep well.  He came into our room during the night a few times, tossed, turned and eventually woke up really early (before 6am), woke up his mummy and once downstairs for breakfast – looking very tired – was still really crazy and bouncing around the house.

Then my soon to be nutritionist wife did some research and found this following fact;

One box of raisins contains 20g of sugar. One Aero chocolate bar contains 24g of sugar.  Essentially, Linus ate almost 3 1/2 chocolate bars worth of sugar before bed.  No wonder he was crazy.  My son is not good on sugar.  Putting aside the fact that raisins are quite gummy and as a result the natural sugars stick to kids teeth and can contribute to cavities, I think of raisins in a totally new light!

Now we know!  Now you do too.

4 comments

  1. In reading up on it, I also found that 4 out of 5 dentists agree that children especially need to brush their teeth after eating raisins, especially if they eat them before bed.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

