Why I ALWAYS wanted a metal detector as a kid…

LONDON — An unemployed metal detectorist has unearthed the biggest hoard of Anglo-Saxon gold and silver ever found in a country field, archaeologists said on Thursday.

The trove of at least 1,350 items, including five kilos (11 pounds) of gold and a smaller amount of silver, was found in July by 55-year-old Terry Herbert with a metal detector near his home in Burntwood, some 15 miles north of Birmingham.

The haul, which is potentially worth a fortune, was officially declared ‘treasure’ on Thursday by a coroner, who has the legal right to decide the status of such finds.

It is believed to date from the seventh century AD, and may have belonged to Saxon royalty. The treasure includes sword hilt fittings inlaid with precious stones, helmets, crosses and a strip of gold bearing a Biblical inscription in Latin.

2 responses

  1. I still want one!!!

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read….

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,809 other followers

