What is it about me?!?

I’m a little confused yet again.

After all that time working in the government and wondering why it was that so many people cared about things I did or said – non-work related – I can to the conclusion that it was them, and not me.  When I left the government, some whack-job googled me and used that to pressure my former manager into investigating my leave.  Whatever.  The issue that creeped me out was why someone would even care about what I was doing so long after leaving there.

It’s not my problem, it’s theirs right???

And then I get an email in my inbox Friday morning, and it reads something like this;

“Dude, I can no longer be friends with you because when my spouse and I were having problems I confided in you.  You and your wife obviously talk to each other.  My spouse and your wife have mutual “acquaintances”.  I don’t want what we talked out to get back to my spouse.  That would suck for me.  Have a nice life”.

I read it over.

Then again.

Blinked a few times.

Read it again.

 

Then I started shaking my head.  My wife does not know your spouse, and the “mutual friends” if we use the Facebook terminology, are 4 people that my wife has not spoken to in years and has not seen since I met her 9 years ago.

Besides, over the past year or 2 if there was any opportunity to talk to any of these “friends”, I’m not so sure that your situation would come up at all.  No offense.  It’s just not that important.

Wondering why you think I, or my wife, would tell anyone about what happened with you guys.  Thinking that being “friends” with me must have either been that insignificant that it’s easy to toss away, or you must really feel that I have some ability to broadcast to the world specific details of your life – which you described to me and a few others using your name, your spouse’s name and exact details.

I have a hard enough time getting a full night’s sleep and remembering where my office pass is in the morning.

Oh well…

Sorry.

Hope you have a nice life too.

3 responses

  1. Some people are just not worth the trouble. Forget about this guy and move forward! He obviously has issues…much like half of the population out there!

  2. Ouch!
    I’d be pretty hurt.
    It sounds like he needed someone to blame and you were the perfect candidate.
    Also, why wouldn’t you discuss it with your spouse? I discuss things with Mike all the time, with the assumption of discretion. Just from what little I know of your wife, I get the impression that you guys are on the same “team” and that she’s not going to blow your reputation in order to gossip with people that she doesn’t really hang out with.

  3. You both are on the right track with what I was thinking.

    I have forgotten about him, and, in all seriousness… His situation – while interesting and really odd – is best shared with your spouse and others who do not know him in a general nature without using names and actual events… Like story-telling. Otherwise it’s gossip and that stuff comes back to bite you in the ass 9 times out of 10.

Don't be shy! Please leave a reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,809 other followers

